films, reviews

Review On… Spider Man Homecoming


Hey guys!

I went to watch the latest Spider Man film a few days ago, and I will say that it definitely deserves all the hype it’s been getting.

I recently felt like a lot of Marvel movies were having too much of a focus on the Avengers when it wasn’t an Avengers film *cough* Captain America Civil War *cough* and when I saw Tony Stark in the trailers for Spider Man, I couldn’t help but feel a bit disappointed. This was supposed to be introducing Tom Holland’s Spidey and I really didn’t feel like watching another movie where Iron Man is taking the focus away from a smaller character because… he’s Iron Man.

However, I was definitely proven wrong because although Iron Man/Tony Stark is featured a lot in the trailers, his appearance in the film itself isn’t overpowering at all. It actually works really well, and I liked how he was there as a mentor figure and didn’t get involved with Peter’s life too much.

Another plus was that we didn’t get the entire back story AGAIN. There have been three actors play Spider Man over the past 15 years or so, and though backstories are important, they’re not necessary when the character is already so well established, and audiences know it all by heart anyway. I think it was a good move on Marvel to leave it out, because it made room for other new things to be included.

I loved Holland’s portrayal of Parker/Spidey, and I definitely think he is my favourite actor of the role so far. I’ve seen almost all of the Spider Man films with both Andrew Garfield and Tobey Maguire, and though they weren’t all terrible (they weren’t all amazing either), Tom Holland definitely played the role in a way that seemed to make the character more genuine, in a way. He is the youngest actor to play Spider Man so far, and though he is young, it actually makes a lot of difference- in a good way. He is playful, but it doesn’t seem out of place, or forced.

But he is also of an age where he wants to be a part of something bigger and better, and when Tony Stark keeps telling him to lay low, and that he has to wait to become an Avenger, he just wants to prove him wrong and show that he is good enough. I’m sure we all hate being told we’re not good enough at something, and so I really related to Parker in this way.

I will say, waiting for BOTH end scene credits is worthwhile in this film, because they are both great and you won’t be disappointed.

Have you seen Spider Man Homecoming? What did you think of it?

-The Storyteller

1 thought on “Review On… Spider Man Homecoming”

  1. I might be going to watch it just because of the end credit scenes! To be honest I’m scared to watch Homecoming, Andrew Garfield’s Peter/Spiderman was my absolute favourite in my opinion, I’m worried I’m gonna hate Tom Holland taking up the role! Buttt I tend to watch everyone Marvel movie in cinemas, so I guess I gotta go and watch this one! Hopefully Holland doesn’t make me cringe…😭

Leave a Reply

