Blog

Realistic Resolutions: Six Months On…


Hey guys!

This January, I made a list of realistic resolutions which I wanted to accomplish this year, and as it is now the 1st of July and we are halfway through 2017 (WHAT!?) I thought now would be a good time to recap everything I wanted to achieve this year, and see how I’ve been doing so far.

1: Talk to my family more.

I think I have done this better, but I think I can still improve on this. I have definitely been home a lot more this year than I have since I pretty much started university, and me and my sister even arranged to surprise my mum on Mother’s Day as well. On my initial post I said I wanted to try and talk to my family every day if possible, but that’s not happened so much. But, I do think I’ve gotten better at updating my family on things I’ve been up to! (Although I did forget to mention to them that I went on that trip to the Isle of Wight… but we can ignore that for now)

2: Stress less.

I have definitely failed on this one, mainly because being a student results in being stressed pretty much all the time. I’ve finished my second year completely, and I’m stressing over the fact that I’ve not started doing any dissertation research yet. And instead I’m writing this blog post… Yeah… I still have a bit of a way to go to complete this goal…

3: Focus on my blog!

I think over the past month or so, my posts have become fewer, but I have been quite busy so it’s really just because I haven’t had as much time as I’d have liked. However, when looking at my blog stats, they have been fairly consistent, so although I haven’t posted as much, people still like to read what I’ve written, which is always nice. I definitely want to try and write more, but I think I’ve been in a bit of a writing slump at the moment, so along with being busy, is the reason my posts have been lacking.

4: Exercise more.

This one I actually think has gone well for me! Not only did I do my first ever Swimathon (in which I raised money for Marie Curie) but I also started dancing! My friend is a dance student, and for one of her modules, had to create a dance piece and needed people to help her out and be part of her “dance troupe” I suppose. It was for a one night only show, which was in May so I have since stopped dancing, but it was a way of keeping fit and because it was with friends it was fun. But I wasn’t the best, so maybe I should just keep to the swimming pool…

5: Go vegetarian… again…

I think this one has gone well for me too. I wouldn’t classify myself as a vegetarian yet, but I have definitely cut out a lot of meat from my diet. I never really bought meat whenever I did my weekly food shop anyway, so transferring to quorn or vegetarian alternatives was pretty easy so I am quite proud of myself for getting this far. Maybe by the end of the year I’ll have cut out meat completely from my diet? But then… maybe I should learn to like mushrooms because I swear they’re in everything…

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

