films, reviews

Review on… Wonder Woman


Hey guys!

I have now been to see Wonder Woman twice in the cinema now, and I will gladly watch it as many times as possible while it’s still on the big screen. Wonder Woman is DC’s latest release, and it’s been breaking all sorts of Box Office records- and it has every reason to.

Wonder Woman shows the back story of Diana Prince, an Amazon, whose purpose is to protect the world from Aires, the God of War. The Amazons appear to live a life of luxury, until Pilot Steve Trevor is rescued by Diana, bringing with him the German ships who are after him. It is here when the Amazons learn of the First World War, and Diana knows it is her purpose to find Aires and stop him, with the help of Trevor.

When Diana enters the “real world”, she is very naive and sees it all in a different view. However this doesn’t hold her back, and she keeps proving that she is worth more than the men of 1918 London think. Although Trevor doesn’t believe that Aires is behind the War to End All Wars, Diana keeps true to her goal, and for the entire film does not let anyone else’s opinion defy her own.

I freaking loved this film, if you hadn’t already gathered. This is the first female fronted superhero film, and Patty Jenkins did an excellent job of directing it too. I loved Gal Gadot’s portrayal of Wonder Woman, because although she is an Amazon, she is so genuine and sees the good in people, even when they are living in such a troubling time. We all know I’m a feminist, and this film breaks so many boundaries and I don’t know why it’s taken so long for a female fronted superhero film to come to our screens. Wonder Woman is so badass, and every single fight scene is just as hardcore and exciting as any other superhero film.

My favourite scene in particular is the No Man’s Land scene. If you’ve already seen the film, you’ll know what I’m talking about. Both times I watched it it gave me chills, and the music they play in the trailer is used quite a lot throughout the film too, and whenever they played it in any of the fight scenes it just gave me goosebumps because it was so freaking cool.

I just. I can’t. It’s so good. It’s more than that. It’s everything you’d want in a superhero film and more. I also think It’s saved DC, because it’s far better than Batman vs Superman, which was when Wonder Woman made her first appearance, and it was even better than Suicide Squad. So, I just hope that the Justice League films will equal the standard of Wonder Woman.

Have you seen Wonder Woman yet? What were your thoughts?

-The Storyteller

2 thoughts on “Review on… Wonder Woman”

  1. “I just. I can’t.” SAME. I saw it yesterday, and I’m still in awe. That No Man’s Land scene… Ugh, she’s so bad ass, I’m so in love holy moly

Leave a Reply

