Blog

My Essay Inspired This Post


Hey guys!

I’ve been sitting here for five minutes, feeling really guilty about my lack of motivation for my blog right now, because I’ve just finished a draft of one of my essays that’s due in May, and whenever I want to write something for fun, all I can think of is analyzing books or articles or journals and it’s starting to frustrate me. I want my blog to be somewhere that I write for fun and I don’t have to think too much about whether or not what I’m writing sticks to the title or that I’m keeping to my argument.

However, the essay I just finished writing was on Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games and it was in fact a very interesting essay. The class I’m writing this for is one called American Science Fiction, and my essay title was on like technological advancements making science fiction pessimistic, and also about why there are more apocalyptic/dystopian visions of the future than utopias.

I’m not going to go into what I wrote for my answer because that will probably bore everyone and that’s not actually the point of my post today. In doing research, I discovered that Collins’ wrote The Hunger Games after flicking through TV channels- one was a News channel on the Iraq war, and the other was a reality TV show. That got her thinking about the absurdity of the media and how it advertises things to the audience and eventually she came up with the idea of The Hunger Games, having also been inspired by the Roman Colosseum.

That was a very long introduction. Can you tell I’m still in essay writing mode?

This whole thing got me thinking about “reality” TV and how it’s really, really fake. I mean, yeah, I get that you’re watching the Kardashian’s everyday lives but they’re some of the richest people in America and I just can’t help but think… this isn’t real life? Real life is everything else that’s going on which is far more important than which Ferrari someone decided to buy with their dad’s credit card. You know?

I’ve never been a huge fan of reality shows- the few times I’ve watched them, I just find them funny because the people you see are so wonderfully weird, and I wonder how people actually live in this way. It may sound bad of me, but the way that they are portrayed makes them seem like they’re living in this bubble, and nothing in the real world actually exists for them. And by that I mean they don’t appear to care about war, poverty, hunger and everything else so many other people around the world are struggling with on a day to day basis. Obviously with TV shows, the producers want to make it as fun as possible for the audiences, but I think that’s part of the reason I never really got into watching these shows. There isn’t much that’s “real” about them.

This is turning into a bit of a ramble, but I’d like to know what you guys think of this topic? Are you fans of reality TV or would you rather learn more about the actual reality of the world around us?

-The Storyteller

2 thoughts on “My Essay Inspired This Post”

  1. I’m not really a fan of reality tv shows either – sometimes I may watch them when I’m bored, but then I’d watch something like Cake Boss and not The Kardashians haha

Leave a Reply

