Travels

Trip to the Isle of Wight


Hey guys!

Sorry for the lack of posts recently, but last week my boyfriend and I went to the Isle of Wight for a few days, which was nice because it’s really easy to get to from Winchester, and I hadn’t been there in years so it was nice to have a few days away.

We went on the ferry from Portsmouth to Fishbourne on Sunday evening, and stayed in a little B&B in the town of Ryde, only ten minutes away from the ferry. We went on a short walk around the Esplanade and then decided to get some food at Wetherspoons because we were tired and new the kind of things they do there already.

On our first proper day, we went to Shanklin Chine which was really nice, and the weather was good too. You have to pay to enter, but they do student discounts so we only had to pay about £3, which wasn’t too bad. There was a little tea room, as well as a pub at the other end of the chine, which was on the beach but we didn’t end up going there.

Afterwards we went to find some food and went to this other tea place and I really felt like having a scone with some jam and cream (as you do). Then we headed towards the Isle of Wight zoo, which was actually fairly small for a zoo. Maybe it’s because all the other zoos I’ve been too are in bigger places, but it was still interesting to go there. Then we did some more walking and went to this restaurant to get some lunch. I can’t really remember what we did after that, but we went back to the hotel and probably got some more food in the evening!

17918966_1235778676543390_592180271_n

On the Tuesday we went to the amusement park called Black Gang Chine, which was fun. I felt like I was maybe a bit too old for most of the rides there, but generally it was pretty good, and it was a nice enough day to get some ice cream as well. After that, we went to Carisbrooke Castle, which was probably one of my highlights because I love history and I love castles, and there was so much there and I’m really glad we went. Plus, there was free parking which is always a bonus!

That evening we went to watch Kong: Skull Island, which wasn’t a bad film but I think it was a bit too violent for me in parts and it made me a bit uncomfortable. However, it was nice to just sit and relax in the evening after a few days of going out and being busy. We got back to the hotel at around 11:30pm, and then disaster struck. While trying to park in the small car park at the back of the hotel, I managed to get my car stuck on the low wall, because of an inconveniently parked van. There was building work going on, so I assume it was there because of that. However, as it was late and no one was around, we had to leave a note for the owner and thankfully they weren’t annoyed at us in the morning! (My car is now slightly dented and scratched…)

On the last day we visited the Needles, and it was very windy! We also went to the New Battery, and learnt a lot about  the Isle of Wight’s history during the Cold War. On our way back to the hotel, we stopped off at Quarr Abbey, which can be seen on the ferry as you come into Fishbourne. I’m really happy we got to see it, because it is an absolutely beautiful building. Unfortunately we didn’t have loads of time to look around because of all the traffic that we were caught up in on the way back from the Needles, but it was still worthwhile!

 

And that was that! We came back on Thursday morning with no hassles at all. I’m glad that I was able to go back after so long, as I can’t really remember that much from our previous trips to the Isle of Wight because I was so young. If you do get the chance to go, I would definitely recommend it!

-The Storyteller

2 thoughts on “Trip to the Isle of Wight”

Leave a Reply

