Blog, university

The End is Nigh


Hey guys!

Don’t worry too much about the title, it’s nothing morbid or anything to worry about! In fact, it’s the complete opposite. I am coming to the end of my second semester of my second year, then I will have a month off over April and I will be back at Uni for three weeks to finish essays, exams and presentations… and then I won’t be back until September to start my third and final year of my BA English with American Literature degree…

It’s scary to think that in a year’s time, I will have given in my dissertation; I will have been a co-leader of my favourite society; I may even have applied for a Master’s course somewhere! So much is going to happen in the next 12 months and although it’s scary and slightly overwhelming, it’s hugely exciting.

I’ve enjoyed my time at university so much, and it’s crazy to think how fast it’s all gone. My first year went by so fast. Second year flew by… and from what I’ve heard, third year goes by so quickly, you could blink and you’ll miss it. I know I will have a lot on next year, with my dissertations along with all my essays and other assignments I need to do, as well as leading Let’s Act which I’m super hyped for.

We had the elections last night, and I was genuinely surprised that I was voted, because everyone going for leader were perfectly capable of running the society. Hopefully this will teach me to be more organized, because I have been known to panic when I get overwhelmed and I think this will be an opportunity for me to force myself to get organized and stay organized.

It’s not that I’m never organized, but I think like with most people, sometimes things just get pushed aside and we forget about it until the last minute. So I hope that won’t be me next year! Generally I’ve been pretty good this semester, as I’ve tried to start my essays in advance (I.e. a week or more in advance) so that I have enough time to research, write a draft, send the draft to my lecturer and get feedback. I have a friend who had to hand in a draft by the end of today and he only started writing his plan this afternoon. Don’t worry, he’s probably going to get a good grade because he’s one of those people who can work under pressure!

I keep thinking back to being a fresher, and not knowing what I was doing or what I wanted to do. But I think I have some ideas now. I mentioned that I might go on to do a Masters, and at the moment I think I want to do my Masters in journalism. I’ve looked at a few places which do them, and two which have stood out to me are Roehampton (which I have booked onto an open evening in May) and Cardiff, which has a big variety of journalism courses- plus, I spent my childhood in Cardiff, so it would be nice to live there again during my studies!

I think the good thing with both of these universities is that they’re in cities which are big enough to be able to get the most out of a journalism degree. Roehampton is in London, so obviously there is so much there, and the same goes for Cardiff. Both have the BBC so there’s the potential to get some kind of work experience too. For the first time in about three years, I actually have an idea asΒ to what I want to do and it’s so exciting to finally be back in this position after so long.

I am now going to go and get ready, because myself and a few friends are going out for a meal and a game of bowling, which will be a nice way to end the semester! (Although I’ve still got two more lectures this week, but one of them doesn’t really count because it’s to prepare us for the presentation in May…)

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

