politics

Thoughts on Article 50


Hey guys!

So, unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past year or so, you’ll be fully aware of the whole situation not only Britain is in, but the whole of the EU. See, this week Theresa May, the Prime Minister, signed Article 50 so, in short, that means Britain is now on it’s way to actually leaving the European Union.

If you’ve been following my blog for the past nine months, you’ll know exactly my thoughts on the whole thing, but rather than bore you with that again, I’ll just leave a link for it here. I was very vocal about my thoughts on why we should remain in the EU, and I still think that the vote to leave was a bad idea. But apparently most of the country (I say most… it was literally 50/50) thought it would be better to be independent.

As annoyed as I still am about the whole thing, I am somewhat relieved that something is happening. We’ve been sitting around asking what will happen next, and now this big thing has happened… but I’m still not 100% sure what is actually going to happen? Yes, we’ve finally made one step forward but can someone tell me all the details? And we’ve still got like two years until everything will be finalised anyway.

I’m a big fan of travelling, and one of the things I would potentially like to do after university is to teach English as a foreign language. Having done French at A-level and GCSE, France was a fairly obvious choice of place for me to go and do this, but now I’m starting to ask questions. I’m not 100% sure if I’m going to do a masters degree yet, and if I do, I don’t know if I will take time out in between graduating and doing my masters.

If I take time out, then that will mean I can go and teach in Europe before we actually leave the EU, meaning I won’t have to pay as much for travel, which will be great because I won’t have any money. If I don’t take time out, I will probably do a part-time masters which is over two years, and if by that point I still want to teach English in Europe, travelling there will probably be more expensive and there’s the chance that I may need a VISA which will lead onto a whole other list of complications.

I know I’m talking a lot about me here. But this whole thing is effecting so many people. I understand to some extent that people voted to leave because there will be more opportunities for British people to work in jobs etc. etc…. but what about those of us who don’t want to work here? Things have just been made a little bit more difficult.

I’m not as angry as I was nine months ago about the whole thing. I would have loved to have woken up that morning in June to find out that the result was the other way around but it’s not and we have to figure out what we’re going to do now. I guess signing Article 50 was what the Prime Minister thought best but I just don’t see how it is the best thing for us.

The EU has done so much and I still think there were so many people who didn’t understand what they were doing for us. And that’s where the problem lies- people still don’t understand the value of the EU. Can you tell I’m still passionate about this subject?

Sorry about the very kind of vague post, it’s literally just a compilation of my thoughts, and any excuse to rant about the whole thing again is a good excuse. Well… maybe not but I’m sure you get what I mean!

-The Storyteller

4 thoughts on “Thoughts on Article 50”

  1. I am not going to tell you that you are unintelligent like many brexiteers would and like a lot of remainers do for that matter because i am sure you are an intelligent person.
    Having said that, i do think you may want to or indeed have a need to do some research as to what the EU is actually all about and figure out where they intend to take the EU. Once you have done that i think you need to have a really good think about it all and look outside that box, look at exactly what is happening in each individual country that makes up the EU, the difficulties they are having. Then think about exactly why so many people voted to leave and the various different aspects of that decision other than just, for example, immigration.
    I have no idea at the moment if you did actually vote in the referendum. I did and i voted to leave, my decision was based on looking at what was happening over many years, all the changes being made etc. I have said many times over those years that if things don’t change and improve for the better in many ways the best thing would be to leave, i never saw the changes that were needed take place. I won’t tell you that everything about it was bad, there has been some good points. The one major problem with the EU is that it has grown and progressed much too fast and there is still no signs of that slowing down. It has got to the stage where they see each individual country grouped together as one single state, doing this was always going to fail in some way in a major way. This tells me the orgaisation (EU) has gone about it in totally the wrong manner from the very start, as many countries couldn’t keep pace with others for one reason or another. Greece is a prime example where the Euro is concerned.
    I do think the idea behind it is a good idea, but everything they have implemented has been imposed on countries that were not really ready for them and couldn’t handle them, all these things should have been held in Brussels with countries being told this is the direction we intend to go in and we would like you to implement them as soon as possible, perhaps given a time limit in years for things to be taken on board. This would have allowed countries to integrate at their own pace and properly as an individual country rather than as one state. Instead they wanted to rush everything through.
    Ask yourself this and you may get a better idea of what i am saying, why do you think so many people from Eastern Europe want to emmigrate to the UK? You should come up with they want a better life, better standard of living even work. Why? because their own country can’t provide it, because they are not as progressed or as advanced as the UK. This should tell you that imposing the same restrictions etc on those countries as the more advanced is wrong.
    Sorry young lady, this is turning out to be a blog and totally unintended. All in all the majority of those who voted to leave did think about the young people and their futures when they voted. Unfortunately the young don’t really see what us brexiteers do, but, now we are leaving you will hopefully in a number of years see that and realise that the EU continuing down the path they are, are on course for self destruction and without many major reforms that is exactly what will happen. Oh and don’t believe all the rubbish about Brexiteers not having a clue as to what they have done and don’t realise the country is in for a hard time, because they do, they just fully have belief that is is only short term and not permanent.
    One last thing, if you are wanting to teach English you may want to learn the difference between “effecting” and “affecting”. Oh i haven’t written all this to change your mind, just to make you think a little through opening your mind and eyes to see what is going on in the world behind the scenes so to speak.
    Take care Story teller and go where your heart guides you. That way you will find the answers you seek.

    1. Hi John!
      Thanks for your reply. First of all, my blog is a positive outlet and a space for me to voice my own opinions. I appreciate that not all my thoughts will be agreeable with everyone but that’s life and I’m not going to let that stop me voicing my opinions.

      I’m afraid all of your reasons for voting leave are reasons I voted to stay. I am a proud remain voter, if that much wasn’t obvious.
      To me, staying in the EU is not a stupid decision. I am aware of the issues the EU faces, but I believe that leaving the EU was an “easy” way out (if you can call jumping into the dark “easy”). Much like relationships, staying together and discussing issues is much better than ending things, and leaving it messy and unanswered. By this I mean where people keep referring to Brexit as a divorce- it is true. In my opinion, we should have stayed, discussed and made a change based on discussion, instead of abandoning an institution that has benefitted us since the 1970s. The EU has given us plenty of advantages, that people seem to ignore. Things such as cleaning up our once disgusting, unsanitary beaches, sending money to our creative sectors, the ability to work, learn, travel and live in Europe without the hassle of visas, protection in the EU single market and ensured consumer rights, and employment. As well as this, the EU membership we once had was worth £62-78 billion per year. We had a huge influence in the EU, in Europe with our fellow countries, and we have quite frankly thrown that all away in our fear.
      Saying the EU has progressed too quickly is strange to me, as it has been a part of our world since World War II. I would hope it is progressing!
      The Eastern European countries you mention has been a part of communist regime for many years, causing massive unemployment and poverty. Joining the EU for many countries such as these has actually benefitted them, and not joining the EU would have shown them to be much worse off than they are today.
      The youth do see what Brexiteers voted for and we are filled with guilt and sadness that leave voters could do this to our futures. There is a reason there are still plenty of protests and resistance from the youth. We are more liberal, more open and accepting. We wish for refugees to be able to come to our country and be welcomed and given the help and sympathy they need. Voting against the free movement of people to me feels incredibly sinister and awful. I may be young, but I am very aware of the happenings in the world around us and I am not as naive as it appears you are making it out to be. Life would be simple if everyone agreed on the same thing but it’s not, and we will have to move on from this now. It’s the only thing we can do.

      One last thing; I don’t think pointing out my grammar/spelling mistakes is particularly relevant to this discussion but thank you for pointing that out to me. I do in fact know the difference (I mean I am studying English literature as a degree after all) so it is an obvious mistake which I do not make often.

      Thanks for your reply, but I will continue to be a proud remainer for the rest of my life.

  2. I really feel you on this… I mean, I am not as angry as I was after the vote. I just sort of feel a bit sad whenever I hear Brexit news, and I really wish that it wasn’t happening. I’m worried for all the people who might have to leave, or who won’t be able to come here, and I’m also worried about dumb stuff for myself like: will I be able to go travelling around Europe with my friends as easily? Will that be a thing?
    I don’t know, it’s quite depressing to see people in my life who’ve spent a lot of time working with the EU to be super skeptical of our chances lol. Hopefully we go for like — a not terrible option, and stuff gets better? Yeah.

Leave a Reply

