books

Re-Reading Books


Hey guys!

I’m a big book lover, and reading has always been one of my favourite pastimes. However, I’m not such a fan when it comes to re-reading a book, and I’m not entirely sure why. This isn’t to say that I’ve never re-read any book I’ve ever read before, but if I do re-read a book I will usually give it a few years in between each time I’ve read it and I don’t know if that’s weird or not.

The reason I decided to write about this was because I had a lecture the other day on The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, which is a book I had previously read, but I think I read it around the time the first film came out so it was over five years ago. At the time, it did take me a little while to actually get into it and to enjoy it, but by the end of the book I loved it. So when it came to re-reading it five years later, I couldn’t really understand why I didn’t like it so much the first time I started reading it.

But I think that happens when you read a book. When you read a book for the first time, you have to discover all the secrets and uncover all the mysteries and learn about all the shocking plot twists, and all of these things are even more exciting when you re-read it, because although you know it’s going to happen, you do forget the little details that link everything together.

As I said there are books which I’ve re-read several times. One of which was my favourite book when I was about ten years old, which was The Palace of Laughter by Jon Berkeley and I’m sure I’ve written about that book a few times on this blog before! I must have read that book at least three or four times, even when I was starting to get a bit old for it just because I loved the story and the plot and the characters so much. It is a trilogy, and I think the first book was the only one I read more than once, just because I thought it was the best one. (Which isn’t uncommon!)

Obviously, there are other, more popular series like Harry Potter which I have read a few times- and that’s not just the first book. I remember reading up to about the fourth book but then things started getting really complicated and the books were getting longer and I struggled with them, so I didn’t read the fifth, sixth or seventh book until I was about fourteen, just because I struggled reading the fourth book so much. To be fair, I was fairly young when I started reading them.

But going back to the first story and reading the entire series again is just as good as reading it for the first time, and I don’t think there’s anything wrong with leaving lots of time in between each re-read- whether it’s a series or a stand alone book. It makes the sense of nostalgia so much greater and it brings back so many memories- whether they’re childhood memories or not.

That’s kind of all I have to say on the subject, but let me know in the comments what you think!

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

