university, Update

It’s Been a While…


Hey guys!

I’ve just realised my last post was on March 15th and I am so sorry I haven’t written much recently! I’ve been super busy, as I am in the penultimate week of term, so deadlines are fast approaching. So, today I thought I would give you a bit of an update, to let you know that I am still alive and the things I’ve been up to!

I went home over the weekend, and me and my sister decided to surprise my mum for Mother’s Day. We met at Basingstoke station, and my brother was coming home anyway so he picked us up at our station. We got home while my mum was walking the dogs, and she got back about ten minutes after we got back, and we jumped out and surprised her and it was pretty funny. We also got her a card, some flowers and some chocolates too. That evening we took part in Earth Hour, and played a game of scrabble by candle light.

Then on Sunday, we went for brunch at Otterton Mill- if you ever go to Devon, make sure you go to Otterton Mill! It has such a cute little cafe and a great shop too. Then we went home, had soup for lunch and then went on a walk at Killerton- another place you should go to if you visit Devon. After that, we went to visit my gran for tea, and shortly after that I had to head back to Winchester.

Yesterday, I was working at a UCAS event in London as a student ambassador and that meant, for me, a 5am start. It may have been a little bit early, but when it comes to getting trains and stuff I’d prefer to be earlier than late. So my train was at 6:50am (ish) and me and the other ambassador I was with met our boss (who was also coming with us) at Waterloo station. The day overall was really fun and I did really enjoy talking to prospective students- the only downside was the fact that I was (and still am) recovering from a cold so there was a lot of coughing and sniffing but I kept going and I hope no one else got ill!

Tomorrow, the Performing Arts society I’m in is having its committee elections, which I will be going to, and we will find out who will be the committee for next year! I am not running for any of the positions because I will be going into my third year, and I think being on the committee will stress me out too much, and I need to focus on other things too. However, a lot of my friends are running so it would be good to go and vote and also make sure my voice is heard too! Apart from the elections, I haven’t really got loads on, I need to go and buy some food and work on my essay but apart from that, tomorrow is fairly chill.

Next week I have a deadline for a draft essay, and we are going to each get an essay from someone else in our class and give feedback on it, so they have Easter to work on it before the final deadline in May. Next Wednesday I am running to be the Let’s Act Leader or the Social Secretary if I don’t get leader. Let’s Act is part of the Performing Arts society I was just talking about and I know I said I didn’t want to run for committee because of being third year, but I think a leader would be a good thing to have done and for me personally, I think I could be quite good at it.

So yeah! That’s my “End-of-March Update” and once again, I’m sorry about the lack of posts recently but hopefully over April I will be able to write some more because there are some exciting things that are happening, so stay tuned folks!

-The Storyteller

4 thoughts on “It’s Been a While…”

  1. Aww surprising your mum was so sweet! I’m going to a UCAS exhibition in Bath on Tuesday, which sounds like it will be really hectic but I’m looking forward to it! I’m going to try to head over to the Winchester stand if there is one because I’m hopefully going to apply. Although I can’t make the summer open day because it clashes with other unis (like 3 unis I want to look at have their open days on the same day which is inconvenient πŸ˜‚) but I’m hopefully going to come to the September/October open day (can’t remember which it is) and have a look! Good luck with going for Let’s Act leader next week as well πŸ™‚

    1. Ooooh that sounds so exciting! I’m not sure if we will be in Bath or not (I won’t be working it anyway) but let me know how it goes! And there are loads of open days this autumn so definitely come to one of those if you can 😊

      1. Ooh will do! Yes I shall try! Winchester looks like a really nice city and I’d love to visit it even if I don’t end up going to uni there 😊 it’s one of like 4/5 unis in the south that do a combined history and geography degree so hopefully I’ll be able to go and check it oit

Leave a Reply

