advice, Swimming

Training for a Swimathon


Hey guys!

As I’m sure most of you will know if you’ve been following me for the past few weeks on both my blog and my social media, you will be aware that I am taking part in a Swimathon on the 8th April to raise money for Marie Curie- all that information can be found here.

I have been a swimmer for pretty much my whole life, so part of the reason why I wanted to do a swimathon is because of how much I love the sport. I was a competitive swimmer for nearly ten years before I came to university, and unfortunately my studies started to limit the amount of time I spent in the pool. However, doing a swimathon has helped me get back into it, because you can’t just go straight into swimming 100 lengths without any training!

I am used to being told how to train and what to do, so I couldn’t just go down to the pool and make up my own training programme, because I would find myself losing count and getting bored. So, after a quick search, I found that the Swimathon website has some great training programmes for all levels, as well as a 5 week or 10 week training programme. I went with advanced 5 week programme for the 2.5km distance- but there are different levels and abilities so there should be one for everyone!

So far I have had two proper sessions (by this I mean with a programme) and one session where I didn’t really know what I was doing, I just wanted to go for a swim. The sessions I have done so far are the same one but I’ve done it twice this week, and next week I will go onto a slightly harder programme and do that twice next week, and so on until I get to the actual day! All of the training programmes can be found here if you are interested in boosting your training sessions, or even if you aren’t swimming to raise money and you just want to have a good workout!

Obviously there are things such as eating healthily and having a balanced diet which all come into getting fit for a swimathon. I also walk a lot, as my walk to and from university is about an hour overall (there and back, at least three days a week!) So ther are a lot of other little things that you can do to keep your fitness up, and a lot of the time you won’t even notice you’re doing exercise, especially if it’s part of your daily routine!

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

