films, reviews

Review on… The Lego Batman Movie


Hey guys!

Last weekend my boyfriend and I went to Bristol to watch Sigala (I feel like this deserves another post in itself) at the O2 Academy, and the next day we decided to chill, so decided to watch the new Lego Batman Movie. I was looking forward to it, because I really enjoyed The Lego Movie that came out a few years ago, and Batman was my favourite character in that.

The Lego Batman Movie as suggested by the title, focuses on the Lego Batman character, and his love/hate relationship with The Joker. As we can expect, The Joker wants to be the biggest and baddest villain in all of Gotham, but he ultimately wants to be Batman’s one true enemy, but there’s a slight problem- Batman doesn’t have one foe. This leaves the Joker a bit broken-hearted, so he comes up with a plot to bring down the whole of Gotham city, and it’s up to Lego Batman to save the day.

The first thing I should say was that it didn’t quite live up to The Lego Movie. I think because The Lego Movie was such an original idea, it would have been hard to match it, but The Lego Batman Movie wasn’t terrible either. I loved Batman again, and I think he was definitely one of my favourite characters, along with Robin and Alfred. I think it was one of the better Batman movies, and I think I would choose to watch The Lego Batman Movie over Batman vs Superman… however, I don’t think it quite beats The Dark Knight. 

I loved the intertextuality of all the other evil characters, who I won’t name because I don’t want to spoil it, but if you’ve seen The Lego Movie, you can expect similar things to happen in terms of “outside” characters. I think Lego Batman also had some good character development- which is a sentence I never thought I’d say…

Overall it is a really funny, quirky film, and there’s things that everyone will enjoy. I don’t know if I’d say it was my favourite film of the year, considering I haven’t seen many films so far in 2017, but I would watch it again if someone wanted me to go with them.

-The Storyteller

legobatmanonesheet
Pictures sourced from Google Images
Leave a Reply

