books, Monthly Discoveries

Monthly Discovery: February


Hey guys!

This month’s discovery was found by accident- by that, I mean if I hadn’t been scrolling through Twitter ten minutes before I started writing this post, this post would be here. And I’m so glad that I came upon this blog post because it’s something that is so so important at this moment in time.

The Lit Hub wrote a post about their Top Ten Contemporary Novels written by and about Muslims that they recommend all book-lovers to read, which I thought was a great thing to publicize as it made me realize: I don’t know how many Muslim authors books I have on my shelves. Khaled Hosseini, author of The Kite Runner, A Thousand Splendid Suns and And The Mountains Echoed is one of my all-time favourites, and his books are all set in Afghanistan, his native country which he had to leave because of the Taliban. I think he is the only author that I have read who writes about what it’s really like to live in a place which is so turbulent and dangerous, so it was so refreshing to find a list of ten books which can open all of our eyes.

I personally haven’t heard or read any of the books on the recommended list, but they have included a brief outline of each of the plots and I honestly want to read all of them. They vary in genre, ranging from contemporary to fantasy, so there is something for everyone! This post couldn’t have come at a better time, because people are afraid of what they don’t know so if people are educated, then there is no reason to be afraid. Religion is something that people should not be discriminated against, and I hope that by sharing these books with you guys, we can help end the horrific hate aimed towards specific religious groups.

-The Storyteller

3 thoughts on “Monthly Discovery: February”

Leave a Reply

