politics

One Week of Trump


Hey guys!

It’s time for me to get all political, so sit back, try and relax, and enjoy the post… if you can… I mean, if you haven’t gathered by the title, it’s about Donald Trump so…

I think we were all surprised when we heard the news that Trump had been voted to be the next President of the United States. I honestly wasn’t as surprised as I thought I would be, but it was weird all the same. You’re letting an Oompa Loompa into the White House? Seriously? But there was a part of me (the undying optimist) which thought that all of the stuff Trump said in his campaign was just a joke.

Unfortunately not.

In his first week in the White House, Trump has been to a lot of meetings, signed a lot of documents and said a lot of things which show he is not going to stray away from everything he said a few months ago. I know. He wasn’t joking. So far, Trump has began to dismantle Obamacare, which, from what I’ve heard, hasn’t helped everyone in America, but for those it has helped, it’s going to effect them hugely. He has taken down some pages from the White House website, including that of LGBTQ+. I believe he has also added one about terrorism…

He claimed that the people protesting in the Women’s March did not vote in the election, which is kind of going against the point of why they marched… they didn’t vote for him. But he is still sure that he lost the popular vote to Clinton because of thousands of illegal ballot papers. He has met Theresa May, the British Prime Minister and the first leader to meet him since becoming President… but managed to spell her name wrong more than once the day before she was due to meet him. Oh, did I mention the whole thing on abortion?

And of course, we can’t forget about his infamous wall, to be built along the Southern boarder. He and Enrique Peña Nieto, the Mexican president, were supposed to have a meeting about this wall, and it was called off because Trump wants the Mexican government to pay for the wall, but Mexico don’t quite support him… I wonder why… OH, and there’s the fact that Trump wants to pull out of NAFTA which I would imagine could put a lot of pressure on not only America, but the other countries who are part of this as well.

And, quite possibly the biggest outrage so far, is that Trump has banned refugees- particularly Syrian refugees- from entering the United States for a provisional four months. And there are plans to have special visas for seven Muslim countries. However, he is going to allow Christian refugees to enter the country. Is this his attempt to stop terrorism? Does Trump know that extremism exists in more religions that just one? Look at the KKK- a group of white, racist Christians. Yes, these days there are threats from ISIS who are a “Muslim” group, but that does not mean they are the only group of terrorists in the world. But that’s a post for another day!

Is there anything else I’ve missed?

-The Storyteller

 

2 thoughts on “One Week of Trump”

  1. Oh my gosh…I really hate that guy. I knew he’d already done all this stuff, but reading it all in one post pissed me off more than when I heard it in the news. Like….I have no words! I’m from the UK, so all everyone could talk about was Theresa May meeting Trump. Most of us here were pissed off because she wasn’t addressing all the things Trump’s said that us here really disagreed with. For one, that fact the he supports the use of torture and wants to bring it back. The UK is strongly against torture, and she was holding hands with the guy!

Leave a Reply

