Uncategorized

January Blues


Hey guys!

We’re two weeks into January, two weeks into 2017, and to be honest with you, my new year hasn’t been too bad. I know it hasn’t been very long, but I’m feeling like 2017 is going to be a better year than 2016 already… I don’t know why, and I’m probably going to regret saying that once Donald Trump officially becomes President, but for now, things are okay.

So why does everyone keep talking about “January Blues”, and January being the most depressing month of the year? I get that it’s because the weather isn’t always that great but you can’t blame a bad day on the weather… you know? January is a pretty great month when you come to think about it!

If you’re into setting New Year’s Resolutions, January is the month where you really have to try and tackle them, and get used to getting into a new routine, or having a healthier diet or whatever it is that you’ve decided you want to do. If you manage to do that for the first month of the New Year, then it’s a pretty good feeling and it should encourage you to continue because you can look back on that one month and be proud of your achievements.

Also, this is more of a personal one for me, but there are so many birthdays in January, mine included. I know far too many people who have birthdays this month, and they’re always something to look forward to, whether it’s your own or someone close to you. You don’t necessarily have to be with them if it’s not possible, but even if you just send them a card, or a message, that contribution can make their day so much better- don’t you feel better just thinking about that? No? Just me? Okay…

I’m also a very proud Capricorn, so I love the fact that my birthday is in January, and I’ve always loved January. Probably because of my birthday… but whenever people talk about January being so depressing, I always wonder why they think this? It’s not like much has changed- all we do is go back to school or work, which, yes, isn’t always fun for some people, but January is the first stepΒ in looking forward to your next break, and it’s not going to be any fun if you just complain all the time!

So make the most of it! Time goes so fast, and soon enough it will be April, and then you’ll blink and July is just around the corner… and then all of a sudden we’ll be back in January again! No one complains about February, and it’s the shortest month of the year! What’s good about that?

I hope you enjoyed this post, and let me know your thoughts in the comments!

-The Storyteller

 

Leave a Reply

