advice

Getting Back Into Routine


Hey guys!

I am going back to University tomorrow, my term officially starts on Monday 16th, and I only have a few days to get back into the routine which I was in before Christmas. It was easier back in September when I moved back to Winchester, because I had a few weeks to settle in to my new house and get myself sorted. Now I literally have a weekend and I’m trying to remember how I did it last time. But, apparently, I’m good at making lists these days, so here are my three top tips for you and I to hopefully help us get back into a good routine!

1. Have a Calendar/Diary

I have both of these, and honestly I prefer having a calendar because it’s right there in front of you, and you don’t have to flick through loads of pages to find the right date. I didn’t have a calendar last semester, but thankfully my brother got me one for Christmas, and I’m sure it is going to be well used! So make sure that you fill in all the important things that will be coming up before you go back to work/university/equivalent, such as deadlines, meetings, travels etc.

2. Set an Alarm

Waking up and going to bed at the same time every day is actually really good for you, because it gets you into a better routine, and it apparently improves your sleeping pattern too! This is particularly important for university students who are known to spend long hours in the library working on assignments…
Also, it’s good to get into this habit a few weeks before going back to University, because then it won’t come as much of a shock for when you have to be up for your 9am lectures…

3. Set Yourself Daily Goals

Maybe if you have time in the morning, or even the night before, make a quick list of things that you want to get done the next day. Obviously you will know about any important meetings because of your handy calendar hanging above your bed (eh? eh?) but if there are smaller things that need to get done, such as doing some shopping, reminding yourself to read another chapter of that book which you were supposed to read for last week, or just chilling for an hour, it’s good to have these things written down. If you’re anything like me, I often find that when I’m not doing anything, I’m certain it’s because I’ve forgotten to do something. So if you don’t want to be in these situations, make a list!

So those are just three of my top tips for getting organised and back into a routine for the new year! I hope you enjoyed it, and if you have any other ideas, make sure to leave a comment below!

All for now,

-The Storyteller

 

Leave a Reply

