birthday, thoughts

Turning Twenty


Hey guys!

This is a scheduled post, because I know for a fact that I won’t have time to post this on my actual birthday (which is TODAY! I’m expecting happy birthday comments!) So today I thought I would write a post with twenty thoughts on turning twenty… let’s see how this goes!

  1. It’s okay to be selfish sometimes.
    If it’s your happiness or your health over someone else’s, it is okay to say no to something or someone. And if they’re upset that you’re putting your own health first then there’s something wrong on their part, not yours.
  2. Take more chances- if you don’t try, you won’t know.
    An example is that I’m thinking of auditioning a solo piece in the Glee society at my university for the summer showcase, but I’ve never done a solo before and I’m terrified of the thought of singing in front of loads of people. But there’s a part of me that still wants to do it, so if I don’t push my boundaries, I will always sit there and ask myself “what if?”
  3. Being sad is okay.
    We’re human and we have emotions. We can’t be happy all the time! Have your moment of sadness and try to move on as best you can.
  4. Don’t bottle up your emotions.
    I’m terrible at this one, because I don’t like people worrying about me, but I know that when I do bottle up my thoughts and worries, it will burst and everything will come out at once and I’ll be a mess. So if there’s something worrying you, tell someone you trust as soon as you can!
  5. Embrace the good times.
    Life is short (I know this as a fact- where has the time gone in the last 20 years?) so have as many good times as you can! This isn’t always easy, but the memories you make with people are so important. Whether they’re at school or at university, sometimes you can’t keep in contact with everyone so make the most of it while it lasts.
  6. Be yourself- everyone else is already taken. (Thanks, Oscar Wilde!)
    Don’t let people put you down about being yourself, and don’t feel like you should change for anyone else. If they’re your friend then they have to take you as you are. And the same goes for the way you treat everyone around you too!
  7. Having alone time is a good thing.
    Sometimes being on your own makes it easier to think through everything that’s going on. Sometimes being alone is a good way to de-stress. Whether you enjoy the company of others or prefer being with fewer people, having alone time is just as important as hanging out with the ones you love!
  8. Take more risks.
    Just as long as they don’t threaten your life or anyone else’s!
  9. Don’t be afraid to voice your opinion.
    This blog is my space to do just that, and it’s also made me more comfortable in confronting other people if I disagree with their policies or their views. That doesn’t mean you can be rude, but you do have the right to express yourself. So don’t waste it!
  10. Use your rights!
    By this, I am mainly looking back on 2016- in particular, Brexit and the election of Donald Trump. So many people DID NOT VOTE, and then they were unhappy with the outcome. If you want a better world, then make the difference. If that is by voting, and you are eligible to vote, then do so.
  11. You can’t tell people what to think.
    This is obvious, and is also frustrating when people won’t listen to you, or what you’re trying to say. But if they’re not willing to listen, then there’s not much more you can do! For example, I know that university isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but if they ask me about it, I will tell them how amazing my own experience has been, because I’ll tell them the truth! But I won’t force them to make the same decision I did.
  12. Not everyone’s opinions matter.
    Even those who are the closest to you. I struggled a bit this year, because I felt divided between two people, both of whom I care very much about. But I learnt (with a little help from my internet buddies) that as long as I’m happy, it shouldn’t matter what other people think about those I have chosen to have in my life. And I’m not going to cut anyone out because of it.
  13. It’s your life. Live it.
    Make the most of everything you do, and make sure the decisions you make are right for you! (So poetic, Janet, well done you!)
  14. Don’t be upset if something doesn’t go your way.
    You just have to try and move on from it in your own time, and find something else to aspire for or achieve. Accept your losses and learn for next time!
  15. Never give up!
    If you have a dream then make sure you do everything you can to achieve it, and don’t let anyone else ever tell you otherwise! If you get knocked down, then pick yourself back up again and make it to where you want to be.
  16. Working with other people is a struggle…
    It doesn’t matter what environment you’re in, or how much you like group work, we all have to do it sometimes and it’s not always easy. But as long as you get done everything you need to do, no one else in the group can tell you off for slacking.
  17. Not everyone you first meet at university will be your best friend… usually…
    I say “usually” because rather unusually, my best friend is one of the first people I met and we’ve been close ever since. I don’t think she’s going to be someone I lose contact with anytime soon! But don’t let this put you off or get you down- with time you will meet better people who will have the time for you.
  18. Sometimes we have to choose between people and it sucks.
    Sometimes we have to choose between two things, and it’s not just as simple as “Oh, I’ll do that later”, or “I’ll have desert first tonight, I think”. Sometimes we have to choose between people (although hopefully this is a rare occasion) and it’s hard being stuck in the middle. But you just have to power through and be honest with yourself.
  19. Don’t let people hold you back.
    If you want to go and travel the world, you go and travel the world! Obviously there will be people at home who will worry about you, but if they know that travelling the world is something you really want to do, they should support you rather than hold you back.
  20. Twenty thoughts for twenty years is too many…
    I definitely won’t be doing this when I’m thirty!

So there is my list! I hope you liked it! I’m going to be honest, I did start to struggle when I got to number eleven but I made it! Now I’m going to go and enjoy the rest of my birthday, with whatever it is future Janet is doing. I hope it’s good!

-The Storyteller

10 thoughts on “Turning Twenty”

  1. Happy Birthday!! Hope you’ve had a lovely day. Loved your thoughts. Definitely shouldn’t let anyone hold you back. X

Leave a Reply

