Blog

Realistic Resolutions For 2017


Hey guys!

Happy New Year! I don’t know about you, but the first two days of 2017 have been… fairly uneventful. Which I guess is a good thing? We haven’t had anymore celebrity deaths to kick-start the year (*touch wood*)  so maybe things will be okay this year?

Every year, like everyone else, I think of resolutions I’d like to try and keep for that year, but I’m terrible at sticking to them. When I swam with my club before I came to university, my new years resolution was to “get better at swimming”, because I knew that that would happen anyway. I swam five days a week, it had to happen! But now I don’t swim as much, and usually my other resolutions (if I make any) are quite ambitious and I never get them done anyway. So this year I want to try and set myself five realistic resolutions for 2017.

1: Talk to my family more.

This sounds pretty simple, and easy to do… and you’re probably thinking that I never talk to my family! I do talk to them when I’m away at university, but not as much as I should. So my first resolution is to try and chat everyday, or every other day when my workload starts piling up, and I want to fit in some more Skype calls somewhere too. Last term, I only called my mum and my sister once in the three months that I was away… and that’s a lie because they were the ones who called me. So I’ve been feeling like a bad daughter/sister and I am going to talk to my family more this year when I’m not at home!
I am also going to send more postcards to my grandparents who live in South Africa when I’m at university. I didn’t do this too much in my first year, and so far I’ve been getting better. I am going to try and do this once a month or so.

2: Stress less.

Another obvious one, but I got very stressed out towards the end of my first term this year. It was really because I suddenly had a huge amount of work to do in the last three weeks, along with a Christmas Showcase I did with one of the societies I’m in. My goal is to not have a breakdown, which I’ve only had once in the whole time I’ve been at university, which in my opinion is not that bad! I also want to stress less about my relationships with friends and loved ones, because when one thing sets me off, it’s like a domino effect- if I start stressing about my essay, other little things will get to me too so I want less of that in 2017.

3: Focus on my blog!

I don’t know if you noticed, but in the last few months I’ve been paying less attention to this blog, which I think is the first proper time this has happened in the five or so years I’ve been blogging. I’ve had hiatuses before when I have become really busy but recently I’ve just felt a lack of interest? I’ve had so many other things on my mind and when I remember that I haven’t written a post, I feel like I have to write one for the sake of writing something. So this year, even if I just write a post once a week, I’ll want it to be a post that I have really worked on and am proud of.

4: Exercise more.

Remember how I said I used to swim five days a week before I came to university? Now I don’t swim at all… So, because the swimming pool in Winchester has student offers of just under £2 for a swim, I am going to use that to my advantage and try to go swimming at least once a week, especially when I start getting busy. With a subject like English, it’s easy to spend hours and hours in the library or on a computer with a pile of books, and forget that exercise is an excellent stress relief. Over the month that I’ve been at home for the holidays, I’ve complained too many times that my shoulders and lower neck have been aching, and my mum thinks it might be because of how much time I spend writing and reading. So my fourth goal of this year is to get back into my love of swimming!

5: Go vegetarian… again…

I wrote a post about three months ago I wrote a post about how I was interested in going vegetarian when I got back to university to start my second year. How did that go, Janet? Well, considering that it’s one of my new year’s resolutions… take a wild guess. It’s not like I eat meat in every single meal- I can quite happily go without it but this year I actually want to try and cut meat out, even if it is a long, slow process. As I said in the previous post, it’s been something I’ve been thinking about for a while now, and I’m really interested to see if I can do it. I think I’ll start by having mostly vegetarian meals throughout the week, maybe just a few with meat or fish and see how it goes from there?

So those are my five resolutions for this year! I will write a post at the end of the year reflecting on how these went… So let’s hope for the best! And let’s hope I don’t forget in a year’s time that I set myself some resolutions…

-The Storyteller

1 thought on “Realistic Resolutions For 2017”

Leave a Reply

