films, reviews

Review on… Inferno


Hey guys!

There seems to be a common theme with my film reviews, in that I always go and watch them with my boyfriend… anyway, that’s not the point! I went to see Inferno today, which is kind of the third in Dan Brown’s series about Robert Langdon, who you’ll remember from The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons. If you haven’t read the books or seen the films, I highly recommend you do so!

So, I first watched The Da Vinci Code ages ago, with my family at home, and luckily, you don’t have to watch or read the series to know what happens in Inferno. The basic plot of this story, is that we “wake up” with Langdon in a hospital in Florence, and he has no recollection of what has happened to him in the past 48 hours. We do know that there is a man who has created a virus to wipe out half of the human population to save the rest of humanity, and it’s up to Langdon and Doctor Sienna Brooke to work out where all the clues are on how to stop it.

Where do I start? From the trailer, I wasn’t sure if I was going to like this film. It had been a while since I last watched The Da Vinci Code and I’m not the biggest fan of the mystery genre anyway, so it wasn’t like I have been really into mystery lately either. It has to be a really good mystery film (or book) for me to enjoy it, and Inferno was all that. It was incredible, and it had me hooked from almost the very beginning. At first I found the flashbacks and visions a bit confusing and a bit much, but as the story goes on it makes more sense as they unravel the clues. There is action from the start, which was great because it really built up the tension and they were able to keep that tension up throughout the entire film.

For me, a good mystery/thriller, which I felt Inferno was a combination of, has to be able to keep you guessing, and it’s only amazing if you don’t guess the plot twist. I have seen so many films recently where I figure out what’s going to happen less than an hour into the film, or who the bad guy really is, but I genuinely gasped at some of the revelations in this film. As an audience member, you don’t know who to trust, and after seeing it, I wonder why Langdon was so quick to trust the people he did.

This isn’t really a criticism, but the one thing I didn’t really like much was that a couple of times, you see people falling to their deaths, and they don’t gloss it over. I don’t like the sound of a body landing on the floor and I don’t like the look of it. (I don’t think anyone does but that’s a particular dislike of mine. Even when I saw The Theory of Everything I felt weird watching it.) So if you do go and see this film, just be aware that this happens twice (as far as I remember), but don’t let this put you off. In general, it’s not really a gory film even though there are a lot of fight scenes and quite a lot of deaths but again, this may turn some people away.

Overall, I have to say Inferno was one of my favourite films of this year so far, as it kept me interested throughout, I was wondering how everything was going to be solved by the end of it, and I loved that even the audience can’t trust anyone. It’s so clever, it’s quick, it’s action packed and I would definitely see it again.

-The Storyteller

inferno

3 thoughts on “Review on… Inferno”

Leave a Reply

