rants

More Brexit Talk


Hey guys!

So unless you’ve been living under a rock since June, you’ll have heard all about this whole “Brexit” thing, and all the arguments going on between “remainers” and “leavers” and how “remainers need to stop complaining because they lost” and all that jazz…

Honestly, as frustrated as I still am about having “left” the EU (which we haven’t technically done yet) I’m starting to get a bit sick and tired of hearing about it. Like, don’t get me wrong, I’m still interested in which direction our country is going to go down in the next few years, obviously, but it’s… tiring. I still disagree with the fact that there was no real majority (and I don’t think a few percent counts as a majority) and that it should have (and could have) been organised better. But now there’s all this talk of parliament deciding on what happens next… so what was the point in having a referendum?

The majority of parliament is pro-remain anyway, so does that mean we’re not going to leave the EU after all? I think if they did decide that, actually, it might be better if we stayed, then the 50% who voted to leave will go mad. And I understand why they would. As much as I disagree with the fact we left the EU, if I was someone who voted to leave and then was being told that our vote didn’t really count for much, I would be pissed (to put it lightly). If there was a way that everyone could be happy with the outcome, that would be fabulous, but unfortunately we’re living in the real world.

In my honest opinion, the government has mucked up. (I was going to used a different word there but you get the gist!) They keep telling us one thing, and then they change their minds… they’re even more indecisive than me! I get that no one really knows what’s going on, or what to do or what’s going to happen in two years time, but they really should have thought about thatΒ BEFOREΒ they told the public that they could vote to remain in or leave the EU. Like, that’s logical, right? I don’t know why Cameron didn’t think about the other outcome when he said he’d hold a referendum, and if he did, he clearly didn’t think he would lose. Which was really stupid.

So now it appears that parliament will be having more Brexit talks, and… who knows what’s going to happen next? I certainly don’t…

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

