Blogtober, reviews

Review on… Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children


Hey guys!

Me and my boyfriend went to watch Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children today, and I was meaning to write a review on it as soon as I got home, but we got back at about 6.30 pm, then I had to cook food, and then bake off was on… so here I am now with my review! That is why this post is quite late… (unless you’re reading this in the future or are in another time zone…. let’s just get on with it!)

So, for those of you who aren’t already familiar with the storyline (either if you haven’t read the book or seen the film), Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children follows Asa Butterfield as Jake, a sixteen year old who is trying to find answers following the mysterious death of his grandfather. The journey takes him to a small island off Wales, where he finds Miss Peregrine’s home, and as always, things are not quite what they seem.

That makes it sound like a horror film. This is not a horror film! It is such a great film, and I loved every second of it. Having not read the book (although it was on my Summer TBR list, and I still haven’t got around to reading it yet), I wasn’t fully aware of the main plot, but I have heard such great things about the book and had a rough idea of what was going to happen. I do know that there are things which are different in the film adaptation (I think some of the characters powers are different or something?) but this always happens in adaptations these days. I think going into this film without having read the book helped me enjoy it maybe a bit more than I would have if I had read the book, because I had a completely open mind, and honestly I want to read the book more now that I’ve seen the film.

I thought Asa Butterfield was excellent in the lead role, and to be fair, he isn’t bad looking either which was a cheeky bonus! I loved the characters who initially seem quite creepy, especially during the opening title sequence (which I loved!)  where we see all the old photographs of characters such as the Millard the invisible boy and the twins. I liked how the main idea is that you don’t have to be the same as everyone else to be able to do something good, or to be brave, or to prove yourself, which I know is a pretty cliche trait in films these days, but there was something about this particular film which just hit the spot.

There is definitely an X-Men feel about this film, but in no ways did I feel like it was similar. Obviously when I first heard of the plot, X-Men did come to mind, but I didn’t sit through the entire film thinking “She’s basically like Xavier”. It’s a completely different idea, and it’s aimed for a different audience so if anyone tries telling me that it’s a copy of X-Men I’ll tell them to leave the room!

I really liked how real the characters are, and how at the beginning, it shows that not all families are perfect- Jake and his grandfather had an excellent relationship, yet Jake’s father and grandfather didn’t get on quite so well. Although this isn’t a nice situation to be in for anyone, it just shows that not everyone is perfect, and everyone is flawed. I would say that Jake’s parents were probably the characters I liked the least, just because it felt like they didn’t want to believe him. (Although to be fair, if I tried explaining something like that to my parents, I don’t think they’d believe me either!)

I think that’s about all I have to say on Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children… I really enjoyed the film. I know that there are people who read the book and watched the film who were disappointed, but from a non-bias opinion, I thought it was utterly brilliant, and I would 100% recommend it and watch it again. It has definitely earned it’s place on my favourite films list, and when it comes out on DVD, I am certainly going to be getting it!

-The Storyteller

peregrine-long
Image sourced from Google Images
1 thought on “Review on… Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children”

Leave a Reply

