Blogtober

If I Was a Hamilton Character…


Hey guys!

For the past six months or so, I’ve been obsessed with the Hamilton Musical, and I thought it would be right to write a blog post talking about which character I think I am most like. I already know which one I think I am most like, but I also want to talk about how I relate to the other characters in the musical too, because they’re all so complex and some of them are misunderstood, some of them are so sassy, and some of them are just inspiring. So, let’s go!

Eliza Schuyler

So to kick things off, I’ll start with why I think I’m most like Eliza Schuyler. I already felt like I was most like her, because of one of the lyrics in Satisfied, sung by Angelica. She says that if she told Eliza she was in love with Hamilton, she would say that she is fine, but she’d be lying. I feel like I’ve done that a lot before- I often tell people that I’m fine but really, I just don’t want to talk about it, or make things awkward, or have people asking me more questions when I really don’t feel like answering them. Also, she is incredibly loyal both to Hamilton, and her family and puts all of her trust into her husband and his work. She is so supportive of him, and I find it inspiring. (I also took a quiz just before writing this post to see if my thoughts would match the geniuses at Buzzfeed and I was correct. They also thought I was most like Eliza!)

Alexander Hamilton

Hamilton himself is so self motivated, and will stop at nothing to get what he wants. I relate to him on the self motivation part, but I know that sometimes things will get me down and put me off pursuing things I want to do. Hamilton certainly faced his fair share of challenges throughout his life, from being an orphan, to fighting in the war, to cheating on his wife, to losing his son and eventually facing his friend Aaron Burr (sir) in a duel. He didn’t have it easy! And it motivates me to try and push through any of my struggles because there is always a light at the end of every tunnel and the only way you’re going to get there is by continuing forward. I think Hamilton is probably the most inspiring character, because although he is somewhat flawed and doesn’t always make the right decisions, he knows what he wants and he is confident that he will get it. Some may call it arrogance, but I think it’s great!

Angelica Schuyler

Angelica is so amazing, because she’s sassy, she’s kind, she’s caring, and she often puts other people first. She could have chosen to tell Eliza that she also loved Hamilton, but she doesn’t because she knows that it would absolutely break her sister. I relate to her on this level, because I know that sometimes you have to let things go in order to make others happy, and I often value my friendships or relationships more than the thing I think will make me happy in the short term, so I don’t mind giving something up for someone I care about. She is also very defensive and protective of Eliza, especially when she finds out about Hamilton’s affair. I can imagine if anything like that ever happened to my sister, shit would go down! I wouldn’t let the person get away with what they had done. Similar to Hamilton, she knows what she wants in life, and is determined to get it. I love her relationship with her sisters, especially at the beginning when we see them all together in The Schuyler Sisters, because it really establishes who is who, and we immediately see that Angelica is the boss. Although I am the younger sibling in my house, I think I have that same relationship with my own siblings and although it doesn’t happen often, they do sometimes take me seriously!

Aaron Burr (sir)

Aaron Burr. Where do we start? He was my first favourite character, and my first favourite song was Wait For It because it’s so perfect. The song is about a woman he is in love with, but she is already married to a British soldier. Although Burr often struggles to find a reason for his motives, or find an argument for something like Hamilton does, he follows his heart when it comes to these decisions. However, he does sometimes make the wrong choices, and lets other people’s judgements and actions get the better of him. I love this about Burr because it shows that he is human, and flawed, and that no one is perfect and we all make bad decisions sometimes (I know I certainly have!) Burr is definitely passionate about what he believes in, but he isn’t as forward as Hamilton is, which is something I think makes us quite similar. Although I’m not always really confident about talking to people about my dreams and passions, I can still work towards them in my own time without having to be too vocal about it when I don’t need to. When it comes towards the end of Act Two, Burr definitely lets his anger get the better of him, and this is his motive to fighting Hamilton and eventually shooting him. (This isn’t a spoiler, they tell us in the very first song!) Again, I relate to this because although I am generally the least angry person you will ever meet, sometimes things I’ve kept bottled up just erupt and I have to let it out. I haven’t killed anyone over anything though, don’t worry!

George Washington

And finally, I’m going to talk about Washington. I love Washington, I think he’s possibly my favourite character. He is loyal, and decisive, and is able to get things done. He is also aware of past mistakes he has made, and how, being a kind of “celebrity” figure at the time, he knows that every move he makes, people will have something to say about it. In History Has it’s Eyes on You, he says how in his first fight, he led his men into a massacre, and witnessed their deaths first hand. This is something no one can really forget about, but still Washington manages to keep moving forward, and complete his goal as general, and later as president. I think it’s inspiring, because I know I’ve made plenty of mistakes in the past (nothing ever on as big a scale as fighting in a war) but I know that I can move on from these things, and that it’s not the end of the world if I make a mistake every so often. We’re only human!

I’m aware that this post is getting quite long, so I’m going  to leave it here for now! I hope you enjoyed this post, and I will be back tomorrow for Blogtober Day 6!

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

