books

Summer Reading Wrap Up


Hey guys!

I feel like the world’s worst reader, because I have done terribly in my self set Summer TBR challenge thing… I gave myself like ten or so books, which you can read about here, and the majority of those books are ones which I need to read for my modules when I go back to university. So, without further ado, let’s have a look at the few books I actually managed to read over the summer… Trust me, it’s disappointing, especially compared to my impressive summer reading list from last year

  1. Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas
    I technically started this book at the beginning of the year, but because of university work etc, I didn’t have much time to really get into it until the start of the summer, when I was finally able to finish it and oh my gosh it had all the feels I was and was not expecting, and it was so good, and I loved it so much! I am so glad I finally got around to finishing it because it is just perfect, and full of action, humour, heart break… everything we should expect from the wonderful Sarah J Maas.
  2. The Inland Sea by K.J. Orr
    This is a short story of only 43 pages, and to be honest, I just got it because it was short and cheap (only £2.99!) and the story looked quite intriguing. However, I was slightly disappointed, because the ending was very sudden, and ambiguous and although I knew it was a short book, I was expecting more from it. It’s about these two boys who live in Russia, and make their way across a frozen lake one morning. The story has flashbacks, and shows the relationship between the two brothers, as well as looking a bit into their family life. But, I would have to say that it didn’t really hit the spot for me.
  3. The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling
    I really did enjoy The Jungle Book, because I had recently seen the new Disney adaption and it was interesting to see how the new film was much more like the original story than the animated classic. One of the things that I liked about reading The Jungle Book is that Kipling doesn’t stray away from the details- such as animals killing each other. It sounds brutal, but he’s writing about the animal kingdom and it’s what happens in real life. I also liked that it is written in a kind of non-linear form. The narrator often starts chapters with “a few years after…” and then the story goes on. Each chapter is like a short story about Mowgli’s life in the jungle, which makes it a fairly easy read because you can pick it up after a break from reading and not feel too distant from what you’d previously read. The other thing I really liked was the cover of my edition! But you can’t blame me for judging a book by it’s cover when I already knew the story anyway.
  4. The Cursed Child by J.K Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany
    Yes, of course I read The Cursed Child, and I even wrote a review on it, so I won’t go into too much detail here when you can read my thoughts on my review! But generally, I really liked it. I don’t think it quite lived up to my expectations, but it was an enjoyable read, and all I can say is that I think the stage performance must be magical (no pun intended) because as I read it, I just kept wondering how they manage to pull it off in front of a live audience. It must be so incredible to see live!
  5. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
    I am a Sherlock Holmes fan anyway, but I’ve never gotten around to reading the books. Does that still make me a Sherlock Holmes fan? When I say I’m a fan I mean I’m a fan of the BBC series and the films with Robert Downey Jr and Jude Law. But it was nice to finally read some of the stories in their original context, and be able to see how the BBC adapted the stories into modern day London. I can finally see why the Sherlock Holmes stories are such classics, because they are so clever, and even if you already know how it’s going to end, you still sit there wondering how the great mind will figure out the mystery.
  6. The Time Machine by H.G. Wells
    Another short one, of only 90 pages, but it was short and sweet. I really did enjoy this piece of science fiction, because it was the first Wells book I have ever read, and I guess you could say I finally found out what the fuss was all about! There are only 12 chapters, and one of the things I really liked was how none of the men at the beginning of the book are given proper names. It’s just “the doctor” or “the journalist”, so it kind of shows that these could be ordinary people.

I believe that that is all I have read since June… I feel like I’ve missed something out, but I think that’s because I am currently reading two books: I have one more chapter left (I think) of Charles Dickens’ Selected Ghost Stories, and I am struggling to get through George Eliot’s Middlemarch. So I almost finished seven books this summer, which I guess isn’t too bad, considering last year I read nine…

What have you guys been reading? And how did you do with you summer reading goals?

-The Storyteller

1 thought on “Summer Reading Wrap Up”

  1. I finished listening to Angels & Demons by Dan Brown this morning. This afternoon I’m going to listen to City of Glass by Cassandra Clare. I can’t set goals because if I do I might not be able to keep them.

Leave a Reply

