books, tags

The Amsterdam Book Tag


Hey guys!

I am now back from my trip to South Africa (which was fabulous, thank you for asking), and while I was there my lovely friend Em tagged me in The Amsterdam Book Tag which was created by my other friend Michelle (The Writing Hufflepuff) so I thought I would start September off with doing just that!

Why Do We Have So Many Cheese Stores In One Street: A Cheesy Read.

Hmmm… I tend to stray away from cheesy reads because I usually end up cringing with all the cheese… In all honesty, nothing really comes to mind so I’m afraid I’m going to have to leave this question un-answered! What a great start, Janet…

Canal Parade: A Book That Celebrates The LGBT Community.

 I feel really bad because I haven’t read a book that “celebrates” the LGBT Community. I have read books which include a gay character for example, such as Dumbledore (awkward moment when you keep spelling Dumbledore as Dumblefore) but the story isn’t really focused around him. If you have any recommendations, then let me know!

Anne Frank House: A Book That Made You Cry.

Guys. Come on. I am UNBREAKABLE when it comes to crying in books. Even in films, it takes a lot for the tears to come (I watched Me Before You on the plane and I didn’t find it as sad as everyone made it out to be so…) However, I remember when I was younger I loved The Palace of Laughter trilogy by Jon Berkeley and a certain character dies in the last book (The Lightning Key) which nearly made me cry. NEARLY.

Red White Blue: Recreate The Dutch Flag Using Books.

Amsterdam tag

From top to bottom:
(RED) The Mime Order, Samantha Shannon
(WHITE) The Help, Kathryn Stockett
(BLUE) All The Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr

Museum Square: An Artsy Book.

So, I don’t actually have an artsy book, but I do have this photography book which I got at an exhibition in Rome about two and a half years ago, so that counts right? Kind of? Maybe? Anyway, it’s Le Vie Del Sacro by Kazuyoshi Nomachi, a Japanese photojournalist and the photographs are meant to capture people living in some really hostile environments. It’s a really interesting book, and I would recommend getting it or searing for Nomachi’s photographs online!

Amsterdam artsy

Pigeons, Pigeons Everywhere: An Annoying Character.

This is easy. Cathy from Wuthering Heights is quite possibly the most annoying character in history, and I think she is the reason why I hated the book so much. Yes, I know it’s a classic, but I’m allowed an opinion!

I AM TAGGING:

Firstly I would like to say that even if I don’t tag you and you would like to do this tag, then feel free! But the people who HAVE to do it are:

Victoria (Addlepates and Book Nerds)

Eve (Twist in the Taile)

-The Storyteller

 

Leave a Reply

