books

Summer Reading


Hey guys!

As I’m sure you’ll know, the summer holidays are the best time for getting good, solid reading done. Or so it should be. Usually, over summer, I will be constantly reading new and exciting books, but this year hasn’t exactly gone so well…

You might remember that I wrote a Summer TBR List a little while ago, and most of the books on my list are books I need to read for my second year at uni. One of the modules I will be studying is Victorian fictions, and I am slowly but surely getting my way through the reading list. I am currently on page 35 out of around 800 of Middlemarch by George Eliot, and this is the fourth out of seven books on just one reading list… 

I do still have time to finish it and all, but it’s not grabbed my attention and the pure size of the books puts me off a little bit. The other books I’ve read so far included The Jungle Book, Sherlock Holmes and The Time Machine, which are all fairly normal sized books and I was actually interested in the content. But with Middlemarch, I’m starting to think that it’s going to be that one book I never want to see ever again.

Of course I’m going to give it a chance, as I’m not even a quarter of the way through yet… But it’s just so long! Also, I think the fact that these are books I have to read makes reading over the summer less fun, because I don’t have the free choice of reading whatever I like. Classics aren’t really my go to choice of reading material- I would rather read an action packed fantasy like Throne of Glass or perhaps something humourous  and realistic such as The Rosie Project… I suppose I did ask for this when I made the choice to study an English literature degree!

So, my reading game is not on point this year, to say the least. I mean, I’ve read four books since June… Five if you’re including The Cursed Child… And what am I doing about that? I’m complaining about it through a blog post…

-The Storyteller 

1 thought on “Summer Reading”

Leave a Reply

