thoughts

“What If”


Hey guys!

I don’t know about you, but I am one of those people who always asks “what if…?” The age old question. Last year I kept asking myself, what if I don’t get into university? What if I don’t get the grades? And instead of trying to come up with some alternative to goin to university, I would panic instead. 

University has always been a goal for me. I always assumed that I would get good grades, get a degree, get a job and yes there would be obstacles along the way, but I didn’t think it would be THAT difficult, you know? And I’ve found that with the more experienced I have gained, I ask myself “what if” a lot more. But it’s less negative.

Right now I can’t decide which career path I should go down when I leave university, which is still two years away. I could go into teaching, and teach in other countries and experience other cultures which is something I’ve dreamed of… But I don’t know if teaching is what I want to do for the rest of my life. 

Then I think about how I’ve wanted to write since I was about 10 years old and how journalism has always been an interest of mine. And then I think “what if I choose this over teaching and don’t enjoy it? What if I am missing out on more opportunities choosing one over the other?”

The third possible career choice that interests me quite a lot, is publishing. It’s not something I know loads about, exactly, but I love reading books and as much as I love to write, I don’t think I could ever become an author. So why not publish books instead? I can imagine myself being an assistant to some big editor at Bloomsbury or something, and living a very similar lifestyle to that of Andy Sachs in “The Devil Wears Prada”, or Andrew in the beginning of “The Proposal”…

The truth is that we will never know the other outcome. Life is full of forks in the road, and if we choose the wrong thing it’s not always easy to just go back and change. I just hope I come up with a good choice for me when the time is right! I suppose it also depends on what is going when I graduate. I’ve always wanted to travel but I know that I may have to wait for a job which includes travelling in the job description for a little while! But who knows?

-The Storyteller 

2 thoughts on ““What If””

  1. I feel this so much. Adulting is scary! I guess the thing is you don’t have to make a concrete decision; if choice #1 doesn’t work out, you have something to fall back on. Unlike your thing with uni, which is scarier since you didn’t have a back up plan. I want to be a teacher, so you should choose that and we can meet up at conferences and stuff πŸ˜›

    1. YES I LIKE THAT IDEA A LOT πŸ˜„ I’ve never liked limiting myself to just doing one thing so although I want to find a career that I can enjoy for the rest of my life, I also feel like just doing one thing for the rest of my life might get boring? But as they say, if you work in a job that you love, you never have to work a day of your life! (Or something like that…)

Leave a Reply

