Uncategorized

Top 5 Most Unlikable Characters


Hey guys!

The other day as I was scrolling through my reader, I came across Cátia’s (The Girl Who Read Too Much) post about her Top 5 Most Unlikable Characters which I thought was a really cool idea, because most of the time we see things like “Top 10 Favourite Characters”, rather than those we dislike, so today I thought I would write a post inspired by Cátia’s. By the way, make sure you go and check out her blog, because there are so many great reviews and book related posts which I really love!

1: Cathy from Wuthering Heights, by Emily Brontë
When I had to study this book for my A-levels last year, I couldn’t stand Cathy from the beginning. If you want my whole thoughts and opinions of the book you can read it here as it sums up everything, really. But the reason I don’t like Cathy is because she’s just… annoying. She doesn’t choose Heathcliff because of his status and she’d rather be rich than happy. I know that at the time that was expected, but still!

wuthering heights

2: Dolores Umbridge from Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, by J.K Rowling
Am I right? She’s a horrible witch (I’m allowed to say that because it’s accurate anyway). I’m sure you’ll all know why I’ve chosen Umbridge for this list of least liked characters. She’s selfish, and rude, and mean, and even her description isn’t particularly likable… Rowling describes her as having a toad like face.

harry potter.

3: Rasheed from A Thousand Splendid Suns, by Khaled Hosseini
This happens to be my all-time favourite book, and I simply love the way Hosseini writes his novels. He has a beautiful way of telling stories, and again if you’re interested I wrote about why I love it here. But the reason why I dislike Rasheed so much, is because he is an abusive husband. What’s not to hate about him? If you aren’t familiar with the novel, it’s set in Afghanistan where women are very much second class citizens, and making the wrong move could be lethal, even if it’s accidental. You can’t not dislike Rasheed, because he’s so evil. There are some times at the beginning when you don’t think he’s so bad, but as the novel progresses, you just like him less and less.

splendid suns

4: Hilly Holbrook from The Help, by Kathryn Stockett
This is another favourite of mine, and the thing with Hilly is that I kind of love her because she’s so horrible. I think that makes a good villain. But the reason why I don’t like her is because she’s racist, and horrible, and rude, and just everything you won’t like in a person. She’s also pretty old fashioned (or as old fashioned you can be in a novel that’s set in the 1960’s…) My point is that it’s easy to dislike her when you compare her to the protagonists whose views on racial equality are like that of ours today, and at the time these views would be pretty forward thinking. If that makes sense? So I’m basically saying that Hilly is also very closed minded. And that’s why I don’t like her!

help

5: Nashira Sargas from The Bone Season, by Samantha Shannon
If you’ve read both The Bone Season and The Mime Order, you’ll know why Nashira is on my list. She’s horrible, and mean, and is willing to kill if things don’t go her way. She uses death as a way to scare those who work for her. Think of a dictator, and you’ve pretty much got Nashira. There’s nothing likable about her anyway, it’s like she doesn’t want to be liked by anyone. I suppose that’s her choice!

bone-season-samantha-shannon-bloomsbury-cover

And those are my Top 5 Most Unlikable Characters! Again, make sure you go and check out Cátia’s blog for more Top 5 posts, and general bookish posts!

-The Storyteller

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Most Unlikable Characters”

  1. Out of these I’m only familiar with Umbridge and obviously I agree with you. If there’s anyone out there who doesn’t hate Umbridge I’d very much like to meet them to find out how that’s possible haha

    1. I very nearly forgot about Umbridge 😂 but as I was reading through it I was like, hang on a minute… I think she’s a character that I love to hate because she’s so evil!

Leave a Reply

