books, tags

Hamilton Book Tag


Hey guys!

I don’t know how many of you are familiar with a) Hamilton the Musical (which I have written about several times on my blog, both here and here) and b) the current BookTube tag that is going round called the Hamilton Book Tag, but basically today, I wanted to contribute towards this tag because I love Hamilton to pieces, and I also love books. Two of my favourite things. So it seems obvious to join in on the fun eh? The original Hamilton Book Tag video can be found here, and although it’s quite long I would recommend you watch it because it gives you a bit of an idea as to what I will be writing today!

Hamilton-9129
Image from Google Images

(In case you didn’t know, the questions are based off some of the Hamilton song titles. Just to clear that up!)

  1. The Room Where it Happens: A book world you would put yourself in
    Now the obvious choice would be Harry Potter, because who wouldn’t want to live in Hogwarts? But I’m going to save that for later, and choose the Time Riders world, written by Alex Scarrow. I’ve always wanted to be able to travel back in time, and that is the whole premise of these books so I think for me this is an obvious choice.
  2. The Schuyler Sisters: An underrated female character
    This is a hard one, because a lot of the books I’ve read have very strong female characters in them… But I think I’m going to go for Jordan Baker from The Great Gatsby, because I feel like she is this really cool woman living in 1920’s New York and she has her life in control but F.Scott Fitzgerald definitely does not give her enough credit as a character, and generally I think the female characters in this novel are fairly under-developed. A lot of the focus is much more on the males in the story.
  3. My Shot: A character that goes after what they want and doesn’t let anything stop them
    I am definitely going to go for Manon in Heir of Fire, by Sarah J. Maas. She is so badass, and evil, and feisty and I don’t think she has any concept of what fear is. If she wants something she will go and get it, at any cost. I suppose being a witch, and being brought up to have no feelings towards anyone or thing helps…
  4. Stay Alive: A character you wish was still alive (SPOILERS!)
    Okay, so for this one I am also going to choose a character from Heir of Fire so if you haven’t read it please skip. So, at the end of the book, Sorscha’s death absolutely killed me because she is so sweet and innocent and lovely and her and Dorian were my faves and the King of Adarlan is such a douchebag and I hate him now because how could he do that to his own son? (If you can’t tell, I majorly shipped Dorian and Sorscha and although I finished this book a couple of weeks ago, the death is still affecting me.)
  5. Burn: The most heartbreaking end to a relationship you’ve ever read (SPOILERS!)
    Definitely the end of Skeeter’s relationship in The Help by Kathryn Stockett, because her fiance breaks up with her because he doesn’t believe that what she is doing for the black maids in 1960’s America is a good thing, even though she is doing a great thing, and I just think it’s really sad to love someone who doesn’t believe you are doing something that’s good and will bring change to millions of people. Not having that belief in you really sucks and I think that’s why I found the end of this relationship so heartbreaking. Plus, Skeeter is someone who always struggled to find love, so that makes it even worse.
  6. You’ll Be Back: Sassiest villain 
    This is a hard one… there are so many good villains out there and I’m struggling to choose one who’s sassy enough… Okay, the one I’m going to go for isn’t exactly a villain, but just hear me out. Miranda Priestly from The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger is by far one of the most sassy villains I have ever encountered, but I think that’s expected when it’s a book about the fashion industry. Whether you’ve read the book or seen the film, I’m sure you’ll understand my choice.
  7. The Reynolds Pamphlet – A book with a twist that you didn’t see coming (SPOILERS!)
    Right at the end of The Mime Order, the second book in The Bone Season series by Samantha Shannon, Jaxon ends up turning on Paige, and although I was hugely shocked by this, I have to say in the lead up to it I did have a feeling Jaxon was going to do something bad. It ends on a cliffhanger, and the third book hasn’t come out yet so we’re just going to see what happens next!
  8. Non-stop: A series you marathoned 
    I marathoned The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. My brother was the one who got me reading them, then I think when I was about three books in my sister started reading them, and she started catching up with me and I desperately wanted to find out the end before she did. However, she beat me to it. In all fairness though, that wasn’t the only reason I marathoned these books. They are seriously good, and you can learn a surprising amount about the Greek Gods too!
  9. Satisfied: Favorite book with multiple POVs 
    Small Island by Andrea Levy is a really good one for multiple points of view. The thing I didn’t really like about this book when I first read it was that it jumps back and forwards in time so that made it a bit confusing, but when you finally get to the end and everything adds up it all makes sense. It’s nice to hear from all points of view because there is a Jamaican couple and an English couple so we get to hear all of their thoughts about each other and what’s going on during War-time Britain and it’s a really fascinating read.
  10. Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Tells Your Story: A book/series you feel like will be remembered throughout history
    Didn’t I say I would be saving one for later? Yes, a book/series I think will be remembered throughout history is of course Harry Potter by J.K Rowling. It is going to be a classic no matter what anyone says, and it has had an impact on everyone who has read it. The books are works of genius and there is no way that they will ever be forgotten.

So those are my choices for the Hamilton Book Tag! I really hope you enjoyed this, and I tag anyone else who shares the same love and passion for both Hamilton and/or reading as I do!

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

