books

Summer TBR List


Hey guys!

I haven’t really written about books recently, and I want to say I blame university for stealing all of my time away from reading books for fun… but I don’t know if that’s a good enough excuse when I study English Literature and I have to read books every week…

Last year I wrote this post last June about the books I want to read over summer, and then a review on all the books I managed to read, so I decided to make it an annual thing. Now that I’ve finished my first year at university, I have the next 3 months to read anything and everything. Summer is always a good time to get major reading done, and I already have one of my book lists for second year for my module “Victorian Fictions”. I also need to try and read “The Canterbury Tales” by Chaucer (wish me luck!) but those are the only books I actually know I need to read so far. So without further ado, let’s get started on my Summer TBR.

  1. The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling
    I am going to start this list with the books I actually have to read before September, beginning with The Jungle Book. I’ve always wanted to read The Jungle Book, as it’s a classic, and I recently watched the new Disney re-make of the original animated film. The cover of the copy I’ve got is so cute, because it looks like it’s been hand drawn, and Mowgli and Baloo look really cute and I really need to find another word for cute…  I’ve started reading it and am now about 100 pages in, and I’m excited to read this book, not just because I like the cover and it’s a classic, but because it’s something I always told myself I would read at some point, but I kept on putting it off, so Summer 2016 is the time to do it!
  2. Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
    Another classic, also to be read for university. Again, it’s something I’ve never actually read, but I have seen the BBC Sherlock (obviously), and I know the basic plots for most of the stories, so I don’t think it’s going to be too difficult to read. Again, I love the cover of my Sherlock Holmes book, because it’s quite small and the cover itself is dark red, and the edges of the pages are gold and it looks so cool! The only bad thing about loving the look of the book so much is that I’m probably going to have to ruin it by writing notes all over it next year… But for now, I just want to enjoy reading the Sherlock Holmes stories!
  3. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
    Another classic to be read for university, North and South looks really interesting, because it’s about the Industrial Revolution, and the social conflicts between mill workers and mill owners. The protagonist is a female, called Margaret Hale, which I think is pretty cool because I often think of Victorian novels as being narrated by a male character and/or written by a male author. Obviously this is a book I haven’t read before, and I think if I didn’t have to read it for university, it would probably be one I wouldn’t usually pick up. I have heard of it before, I think my mum is a big fan of it, but there are other books which would excite me more, such as The Jungle Book. However, I’m going to go into this book with an open mind, like I always do!
  4. The Time Machine by H.G Wells
    I think everyone’s heard of The Time Machine, and I believe some say it’s the first science fiction novel. So why would I not want to read it? I love science fiction, and I’ve heard so much about The Time Machine. It surprises me that I haven’t got around to reading it yet, so I’m going to have to get my act together and start reading! I am already familiar with the story line, so I think that might encourage me to read it sooner rather than later.
  5. Selected Ghost Stories by Charles Dickens
    Who doesn’t love a good ghost story, eh? I have always wanted to get more into the world of Dickens, having only ever read a couple of his novels. I like that it’s only a selected few I need to read over the summer, because that takes the pressure off me a little bit! But this is the reality of studying English literature… you need to read. A lot. I’m not sure if I actually own a copy of Dickens’ Ghost Stories or not, but if it turns out I have to go and buy it, I won’t be too disappointed because it’s a good excuse for me to go book shopping!
  6. The final two novels I need to read for Victorian Fictions are Middlemarch by George Eliot, and The Moonstone  by Wilkie Collins. I don’t know very much about these two, so I feel I can’t say much about them. However, they are on my reading list, so they will be read! Knowing me, I’m probably going to put them off until the end of summer and “accidentally” forget about them… I’m sure there are plenty of summaries online somewhere!
  7. Dracula by Bram Stoker and Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
    This isn’t actually for any of my modules, but it’s one I’ve always wanted to read. I want to get into the gothic/horror much more, because one of my other modules next year is on the American Gothic which sounds really interesting. I think everyone knows the story of Dracula, or have at least heard of it, so I’m really excited to get around to reading it. Similarly, I want to read Frankenstein for the same reasons. I now own a copy of both of these novels so I don’t have an excuse not to read them.
  8. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
    Yes, I know, I still haven’t read Fangirl. I’m a disgrace. I’m sorry. BUT I do want to read it before I go back to university in September. I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book, so hopefully it will live up to expectations. I’m quite excited to read it, because I think it’s something I might relate to (being a huge fangirl myself). I have also realised how different my choices of books are on this list, going from Dracula and Frankenstein to Fangirl… you can’t blame me though, I have a wide variety of favourite genres!
  9. Uprooted by Naomi Novik
    I’ve wanted to read Uprooted for a while now, and I’ve finally got around to buying a copy of the book. This is going to be one which I read for fun, and I love the idea of the story line. It seems to be really mysterious and exciting, and full of plot twists and fantasy… I’ll let you know what I think of it when I’ve read it! But for now, I can’t really say that much more on it because obviously I haven’t read it, and I don’t know what’s going to happen. And I’m not just going to Google it for the purpose of this post! If you’re so interested, you can do that!
  10. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
    I’m sure many of you have heard of this book, especially with the news of a new film coming out in September! To be honest, I hadn’t heard of this book until fairly recently, but I had heard of it before I saw the first film trailer. From what I’ve heard, it does remind me a little bit of X-Men but I’m not going to compare the two when I read it. I like the whole concept and I love the cover, as it makes it look really mysterious and I can’t wait to start reading it. I hope to have read it by the time the film comes out!

    Summer TBR
    All pictures are my own

So those are ten books on my Summer TBR List. I really hope I’m going to be able to get through all of them, if not most of them, because I think especially with the Victorian Fiction book list, I’m not exactly going to be flying through all of these books, because some of them are definitely harder to read than others! But, being the optimistic, ambitious reader that I am, I will try my best to read as many of these books as possible. As I said, I also need to try and get my way through The Canterbury Tales on top of this book list, so I’m thinking of buying a translated copy in modern English, because I think that will help me get through it much faster!

What are your Summer TBR Lists? Have you read any of the books mentioned above?

-The Storyteller

15 thoughts on “Summer TBR List”

  1. Well I haven’t read the majority of those books but I have read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. as said before it’s really good and I’m super excited for the movie (also I love Asa Butterfield). I will say, the second one wasn’t as good, but still potentially worth a read.

  2. I remember borrowing the same beautiful copy of Sherlock Holmes from the library! And of course I enjoyed reading it. 💙
    I also read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children twice and I enjoyed it too. It’s got mixed reviews so I can’t really say that you’ll love it, but you ‘might’ enjoy it. Good luck with getting through all these books, Janet! :]

    1. Thank you! The thing I’m worried about with Sherlock Holmes is that I’m probably going to have to write notes in it but it’s so pretty and I don’t think I can bring myself to do that 😂

      1. You’re welcome! Hahaha I get you! But then again that copy is quite small, wouldn’t it be difficult to annotate in?

      2. Totally! It’s been a while since I bought any stationary, so much self-restraint when it comes to beautiful journals, sigh!

  3. Fangirl is so good! I hope you love it as much as I did 🙂 I haven’t read Miss Peregrines, but I really want to. I can’t wait to hear what you think of some of those classics, because I’m always kind of wary of reading them…

Leave a Reply

