opinion

The Aftermath


Hey guys!

So, Britain has officially left the European Union. The votes were close, I think Leave got 52% and Remain got 48% so as you can see, there really wasn’t much between it. I woke up at 5am and I couldn’t wait to see what was going on. However, the moment I checked Facebook people were already saying it looked like we were going to leave the EU.

But the main question on everyone’s lips is what’s going to happen next? The result was a shock to everyone, both those who voted stay andΒ leave. There are still some people trying to convince me that leaving is the better option for our future but, call me stubborn, I don’t see how it can be.

I was very angry this morning, and I still am a bit. I’ve calmed down a lot, but I think that’s because I’m not on Twitter right now, and I don’t have people trying to convince me with their recitals of the Vote Leave propaganda posters. All I’m saying is that if it was the other way around, I wouldn’t be getting down people’s throats about the outcome if they had voted for the opposite party.

If you weren’t already aware, there are petitions going around for a second referendum, because people are so angry with the outcome. Now, I’m not sure how that’s going to work out (right now I doubt it will work at all) but I just hope that all the people who are complaining about the result are people who actually voted. I hope that they weren’t just sitting back because they couldn’t be bothered and thought their opinion wouldn’t matter, one vote wouldn’t matter, and thought it would all be okay, and now it hasn’t worked out in their favour. 72% voted, and if that other 28% voted, things could have turned out to be very different.

Like anyone, I don’t know what’s going to happen. Maybe things will turn out for the better, but we just don’t know, and I am starting to get annoyed with people who are so sure that things are all going to be blue skies and daisies on the other side. We don’t know that for sure. There is nothing to prove that things will be better now that we are no longer part of the EU. I was talking to some of my friends about it last night, and I was saying that I’d rather be pessimistic (*shock horror*) about this whole situation than optimistic, because I don’t want to feel incredibly let down after hoping so much for something that didn’t end up happening.

The last thing I want to say, is to the people who voted remain. Firstly, well done for voting. Secondly, don’t blame older people for voting to leave. That’s not fair. Everyone has the right to vote, and some people’s opinions differ from yours and mine. Although I am angry, I have not once blamed an older person for their choice in vote. Also, not all older people voted to leave, so don’t generalize. Yes, statistics show that most of those aged 65+ voted to leave the EU, but again that isn’t everyone. So express your anger as you wish, just be more considerate.

Let’s try not to hate each other and result into some kind of Civil War. That would not be cool. It’s okay to be annoyed, and it’s okay to be happy with the outcome, whichever way you decided to vote. But all we can do now is wait and see what the future brings us, and hope that it’s not going to end in a disaster.

-The Storyteller

1 thought on “The Aftermath”

Leave a Reply

