future

I Think I Have a Plan…


Hey guys!

You know when you’re growing up, you always have people asking what you want to be when you grow up? I don’t know about you, but for as long as I can remember I’ve always had an answer, ranging from being a ballerina, to an Olympic swimmer, to a librarian to an astronomer, to a teacher, to a journalist, to an actor, to a surgeon… the list is endless. But, in the past year or so, ironically since I’ve been at university, all of those ideas don’t seem to be realistic to me anymore, and I have struggled to find a career that really inspires me. Obviously, I haven’t finished my degree yet so I do still have time to think about it, but when you’re like me and have always had an idea of what you want to do your whole life, it’s kinda scary when suddenly you have no idea.

In my last year of school, the main things I was thinking about doing were acting, being a journalist, going into publishing (which I still think is a possibility) or even being a teacher. However, I have a weird thing towards being a teacher because that’s what my mum does and I don’t want to do the same thing, which is crazy, I know. I don’t think I’d be a bad teacher, honestly, but I always thought it wouldn’t be my first choice. As you know, I’ve always wanted to travel, and my mum has constantly told me to teach English abroad. My dream would be to travel around South America, especially Peru (if you’ve read my About page, you’d already know that) and so comes my latest big plan:

I’m going to go to Portugal, learn Portuguese and possibly Spanish, and then go to South America and teach English there… as well as travelling, of course. Obviously teaching English means you are talking in English during lessons, but I think it’d make life a lot easier for me if I actually learnt some of the basics before hand. Also, I’ve never been to Portugal and I’ve only been to the very north and the very south of Spain, and I’d like to see a bit more of it. I don’t know if this would be something I’d want to do for the rest of my life, but I do know that if I’m going to travel, I may as well do it as soon as I can, and why not get paid whilst doing so? Also, living in a country means you get to see a lot more of it than you would just by being a tourist. Living there means learning about the culture, the language, the people, and I think it’s really eye-opening.

As I said this is still just a plan, and plans can go any way. But I think it’s exciting to actually have an idea of what I want to do. If I go through with this, I’ll finally be able to see more of the world and know that I’m doing something worthwhile.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

