opinion, thoughts

EU Referendum Part 2


Hey guys!

Recently, especially since writing my last post, I think I’ve become more political when it comes to the upcoming EU Referendum. In my last post, I remember not really caring whether people wanted to stay or not. Well, I did care, obviously, because I want the UK to stay in the EU, but I did say that I understand both parts of the argument.

I have since changed my mind, almost entirely.

Honestly, I do think this whole thing is a little bit stupid. I still question why we wouldn’t want to stay in the EU? The Vote Leave campaigners always talk about how much money we give the EU, but they never talk about how much we get back from it. It’s not like we never see the money ever again. I get the argument that they would rather use all of the money on the UK alone, but I just think they’re making a bit of a big deal out of it.

Secondly, let’s talk about immigration. I have since met more people who argue that leaving the EU will mean we can tackle immigration, but come on guys, open your eyes. The UK is an island, so we are surrounded by water which means immigrants and refugees and anyone else trying to get into the UK will still try and get into the UK! Just because we’re not part of the EU, that doesn’t mean people will immediately think, “Oh, no hang on Dave, they’re not part of the EU, we need to go somewhere else”.

Continuing on from that, I think a lot of Vote Leave campaigners are now using immigration as the main reason to leave the EU, but when you think about it, their ideas are somewhat racist. I was talking to someone, who for the purpose of this post will remain nameless, and they did seem to be a bit racist. When I was talking to them, it wasn’t like they were being extremely racist, but they were definitely hinting at it. Plus, they want to leave the EU. They told me this, and they were also mentioning how there’s no space for more people, but they were clearly talking about refugees or people of a different ethnicity or race, rather than people from North America or Australia, for example.

I know I’m ranting. I know. I didn’t think that this whole referendum would be something I would feel so passionately about. I am by no means a politician, and nor would I like to be one. I think I’d be a terrible politician, and I definitely don’t think politics is one of my areas of interest. But it’s the younger generations who will be affected by this referendum, and I may be generalising here, but it seems that a lot of older people are the ones who are voting to leave. This referendum isn’t something that we can vote on again in 5 years time. It’s going to change everything. If we leave, there is no real plan for what we’re going to do, as far as I’m aware, and if we stay, at least we know that for the near future, things will stay pretty much the same. But don’t take my word for it, I am in no way psychic!

There is a song in Hamilton The Musical, sung by King George III called “What Comes Next”, and it’s so relevant to this referendum. Some of the lyrics include “when your people say they hate you, don’t come crying back to me”, which I think will be like the EU if Britain does leave, and eventually decides that we want to come back again. It’s a very funny song, you should listen to it. (Just saying!)

Anyway, I think that’s enough from me, so I am going to leave this post here. Let me know what you think about this whole thing in the comments!

-The Storyteller

15 thoughts on “EU Referendum Part 2”

  1. YES I TOTALLY AGREE. The vote leave campaign is just picking out the bits of the EU that people really dislike and using that to focus their whole campaign around it. It’s not giving the full picture, just focusing on immigration and money and no one knows if any of these statistics about the ‘billions’ of money we’d have the UK if we left are actually accurate. As far as immigration goes, I think it is something that the EU has to work together on as it is not just an issue occuring in the UK. If we leave it will not only restrict us on emmigrating to Europe but put a strain on the rest of the EU as we won’t be taking in our fair share of refugees/immigrants. What also really annoys me is that the neither campaign is particularly making much of an effort to explain to the publuc what the EU actually does and how can we expect people to make the best decision without giving them the full picture? The leave campaign keeps emphasising the fact the we pay ‘£10 bn per week to Brussels’ when it is simply not true because that money goes to the whole of the EU, not just Belgium. And people don’t think about the money that being in the EU saves us – if we left the EU we probably wouldn’t have as much money as they say we will as it will have to go on other things like taxes for trade. Tbh I think the governments done a pretty poor job on educating people on the EU and has resorted to scaremongering as the ‘easier’ option. I’m glad you’ve taken an interest in the referendum – at least someone has been bothered to make an informed decision without just saying generic, innaccurate things lile all those who want to leave so we can ‘control’ immigration and have ‘more’ money without really knowing if this is true/possible or not. Sorry for the rant! I really loved your post! 🙂

    1. Rants are welcome here! Don’t worry about it! 😉 also, if we leave the EU then we are definitely never going to win Eurovision, let alone get 12 points again! 😉 thanks for the comment, I agree with you 🙂

  2. First American politics, now you guys? New Zealand is so boring compared to all this! I really don’t know anything about it, but I do think it’s interesting that after reading into it you can change your mind so dramatically. It kind of proves that a lot of the older generation don’t know what they’re talking about, and should actually research something that’s so important to your country!

  3. No, I’m pretty sure you’re right about more older people voting Leave; I’ve read a bunch of things saying that young people are x times more likely to vote In. (I can’t remember it exactly.) And I feel like perhaps they’re voting for change because they can, and because it isn’t going to affect them if stuff goes wrong…?
    I DON’T KNOW. But I do know that I’m a very strong supporter of In, and quite frankly the Leave campaign is ridiculous. Both campaigns haven’t been managed very well, but…at least In makes sense behind all the scaremongering.
    ARGH. I just think that it seems so selfish that we should just try and solve problems by building a wall. I’m terrified of Brexit, and all I can do is watch.
    (Also: Hamilton references. GOOD. *nods*)

    1. Yeah, I think the main reason I want to vote in is because at least for now we know what we’re doing. If we leave, anything could happen, good OR bad. I know that the EU is by no means perfect, but running away from it won’t solve anything!
      And thanks, I was very proud of myself for the Hamilton reference! 😉

  4. THANK YOU THANK YOU FOR THIS! I wish I could vote but the thing is YOU can, so that’s one more person on the Remain side who actually has sense

    1. It’s times like this when I wish the legal voting age was 16, because there are so many young people I know who want to vote and it shows that young people ARE interested! And it’s our future at stake anyway! Thanks for commenting 🙂

  5. I left a reply on your latest post a few minutes ago, and just came here to read this post, and you and your commenters here may not like what i am about to say.
    All this older people bashhing has to stop, no matter what the topic of discussion is. That kind of thing is why there are divisions within the country and between the young and old. The young need to get it in their heads that older people have lived longer, have more experiences in life, have a better idea of what life is about. They are not all senile or stupid people who know nothing. The young have as much to learn from the old as the old have to learn from the young. People of all ages need to work together, talk and discuss thing to get a better understanding of things before forming their opinions. Believe it or not older people bashing like this is nothing more than ageism, i doubt any of you would like to be labelled as racist, sexist or anything else “ist”, so why be or risk being labelled as ageist, which is exactly what the comments here say about you.
    And just for your information i personally know many young people who voted to leave, do you consider them to be stupid and not knowing what they were doing. After all is was their futures they were voting on as well as yours.

    1. As I said in my response to your previous reply, everyone has different views on this and I agree, brexit has divided our country. Let’s face it, it was basically a 50/50 vote. I’m not saying people are stupid and you have to realise that when I wrote this particular post I was angry and it was a way for me to vent. However, I have grown to appreciate that this is how things are. I still disagree with the idea that brexit will make my future better because I don’t see how it will. But all we can do is wait and see what happens.
      Good day.

Leave a Reply

