opinion

EU Referendum


Hey guys!

For those of you who don’t know, on the 23rd June 2016, the UK will be able to vote on whether or not they wish to stay a part of the European Union (or the EU for short). Since I first heard about this referendum, I always thought it was a little bit pointless, because it just seems logical to me for us to stay part of the EU. We always have been, and I personally do not think there are any problems with staying in the EU. However, there are a lot of people who disagree.

I think we should stay in the EU, mainly because I worry about not being able to travel around Europe as easily as we can now. That may seem like a bad reason for some people, but travelling is probably one of my truest passions, and I’ve always said that if I got the chance to get a job that involves travelling, I would take it. So just the thought of something possibly effecting that scares me a little bit.

One of the main arguments I’ve seen for the Vote Leave campaign, is that ÂŁ350 million per week is sent to Brussels, when it could be spent on things within the UK, such as giving more money towards the NHS. I don’t think this is a bad argument, and to be honest I don’t think I have much to say about it. I think that’s a good enough reason to leave the EU. But the NHS has survived this long when we’ve been part of the EU, so I doubt it would be changed a substantial amount in the long run. Maybe, but who knows? I’m certainly not psychic!

A few of my friends have often jokingly said “if we leave the EU, will we still be able to take part in Eurovision?” which I think is hilarious, because as much as I love the show, we are also one of the biggest contributors towards it so if we did leave, I don’t think it would effect whether or not we are in Eurovision or not. I do think, however, that we would get even less votes from European countries if we left, and although the UK has never had a particularly good history in terms of voting when it comes to Eurovision, I think leaving the EU will make our chances even worse! So what would you rather risk? (I’m joking, by the way)

I made the decision to Vote Stay a long time ago, when I first heard about the referendum. It just makes more sense to me, and as much as I love being adventurous and trying new things, I think it is more logical in this sense to stick with what we know, rather than risking everything for something a little more crazy, because we want to be more independent.

-The Storyteller

3 thoughts on “EU Referendum”

  1. Alas, I’m not old enough to vote in the EU Referendum, but if I could I’d definitely vote in! Like you, I really don’t want travel to become so difficult, because it’s super easy now. And also personally I think the EU is better for our country, since although we do pay money in we get a lot of benefits from that and we can contribute to making laws and such. 🙂

  2. I’m loving reading this after your latest post 🙂 Travel would probably be one of my main things too, but it’s great you actually looked into the politics side of things in your latest post!

Leave a Reply

