thoughts

Writing Phases


Hey guys!

Now I’ve finished university, I thought I would easily get straight back into writing just as I did before, but seeing as my blog posts in general have been very… here and there, I’m finding it hard to get back into the swing of things.

I guess you could say I have writer’s block, which is no surprise there because I swear I’ve written at least one post per year about having writer’s block since starting my blog. But it doesn’t really feel like writer’s block. I don’t find myself struggling to think of things to write about, it’s more finding the motivation to actually write it.

I’ve got a white board (although technically it’s silver but it serves the same purpose) on my wall, and I have a section titled “Blog: For Midnight Ideas…” This has been there for a while, maybe a year or two, because at one point I would wake up in the night frequently and/or would lie in bed for ages thinking about anything and everything, and if a good blog post idea came to mind I would write it there. I would also do this during the day, and occasionally if I did have writer’s block I would sit on my bed and write a list of things I could write about.

At the moment, all that’s written on my board is “Review on Jungle Book”. I watched the new Jungle Book whilst I was at university in the last three weeks, and for some reason I never got around to writing about it while I was there. I guess it’s because I was in the middle of writing essays, exams and presentations so I did have other priorities. I miss writing for fun though. In the last couple of years, my blog has become better and better, and especially last year, I “met” so many amazing bloggers thanks to this little space right here. This time last year, I felt much more part of the blogging community than I do now, and I feel that’s because I’m lacking in blog posts.

Now, there is a twitter chat which I am a part of (shout out to the Blog Squad) and I feel like I’ve gotten to know some of my fellow bloggers so much more thanks to both WordPress and Twitter. But I was thinking to myself earlier, how much everyone else seems to be more dedicated to their blogs than I am at the moment. That’s not a bad thing towards anyone out there reading this, it’s more of a “come on Janet, get off your ass and write something” kind of thing.

I don’t even know if that makes any sense.

A few days ago, WordPress told me that six years ago, I made an account. This account. A lot has changed in that time, including my blog name and background, but the one thing that has always stayed the same is my style of writing. I’ve always written my blog as if it were an online journal. I never wanted to force myself to write a post every week. I wanted to do this for me, so I would post whenever I felt like it. And I don’t think that’s going to change any time soon… I don’t like feeling restricted, and knowing me I would probably forget anyway. I just wonder if, after six years of blogging, I’ve finally hit the Blogging Wall? If there even is such a thing.

I don’t want to stop blogging. I think what’s getting to me is that last year and the year before, loads of people starting finding my blog, and I theirs, and my posts were actually being read by people and people cared, and now that I’ve been on and off with blogging for a while, I’m scared that that’s going to change.

Well it’s almost 11pm, so I think that’s enough of that for now. I promise my next post won’t be so down!

-The Storyteller

1 thought on “Writing Phases”

  1. Oh, we all experience: bloggers, writers, journalists and even students who just wants to write an essay. Don’t feel pressured. Also, happy blog anniversary! 🙂

Leave a Reply

