films, reviews

Review on… Batman vs Superman: Dawn of Justice


Hey guys!

It’s been absolutely ages since I last wrote a review, so it’s a good thing I saw Batman vs Superman on Saturday, and it’s even better that I have a lot to say about it. Before I start this review, it’s worth noting that it may contain spoilers.

When I first saw the trailer for Batman vs Superman, I didn’t think it would be a film I would want to see. Why? Because I’m not the biggest fan of DC Comics anyway, even though Batman is probably my favourite hero in that franchise, and the Joker is my favourite villain. Also, when I saw Man of Steel when it came out a few years ago, I just felt that it was too long and I didn’t enjoy it. So with these things in mind, I thought that I wouldn’t miss out on much if I skipped out on this one.

So what made me change my mind? I wanted to give it a go, and also I knew my boyfriend really wanted to see it so I decided to take him as a surprise (although I did tell him the week before but that’s not the point) and I’m really glad I did. When the action really kicked off, I enjoyed it more and more. I’ve noticed that DC Comics and films are much darker than Marvel, which is what I’m more used to, but that’s not always a bad thing. It’s nice to have that balance in superhero films every now and again, and although Batman vs Superman was more serious, it didn’t make it a bad film because of it.

I think I prefer DC villains more than Marvel villains, because as I said the Joker is, and always will be my favourite, but then we get Jesse Eisenberg playing Lex Luthor and the best way to describe him is psychotic. And it’s amazing. I kept thinking he’s almost as bad as the Joker himself. A good superhero film needs a good villain, and Eisenberg was very impressive in his role. I had heard someone say that in every film, Jesse Eisenberg plays Jesse Eisenberg, but I don’t really see that when he is in his role as Luthor. Instead, he plays a brilliant maniac.

Now, let’s go on to Ben Affleck. There was a lot of talk about Affleck being the new Batman when word first came out that he was going to be taking on the role. And a lot of this talk was negative. From the start I questioned why people thought he wouldn’t be very good, because no one had given him a chance to show what he can do with the role, and I was again, very impressed. For me, Christian Bale will always be my “original Batman”, because it was when he played the title role where I really became a fan of Batman. However, I was still optimistic that Affleck would do the role justice (no pun intended), and I really think he did.

Next: Wonder Woman. She really stole the whole film for me, even though she’s really in it as Wonder Woman towards the end. I was really hoping it wouldn’t be another Star Wars: The Force Awakens ending, where she just comes in as her character for less than 2 minutes right at the end, and I wasn’t disappointed. What I loved about Wonder Woman is that she is a proper warrior, and she doesn’t really need to be saved by anyone and she’s just so… cool. The only problem I had, which is a really petty thing, is this: does she really need to wear so little clothing when she becomes Wonder Woman? (I know, I know, it’s not a big deal, but still…)

Now the criticisms… as much as I enjoyed the film, there were a few things which bothered me, and this is where some spoilers may come in, so read with caution! The problem I have with most DC films is that the beginnings always feel far too long. I know there’s a new Batman now, but did they really need to show his parents’ deaths again? We all know the story by now, and honestly the film could have done without.

*SPOILERS* Secondly, what really got on my nerves about the film was the bit when Superman and Batman reconcile and decide to fight together rather than against each other. You’d have thought it would be something like the monster Luthor creates is destroying both Gotham and Metropolis, and they need to work together to save both cities… but no. The reason they decide to work together, is because both of their mothers were called Martha. Like… are you kidding me? Two and a half hours for this?

Overall I was pleasantly surprised. I walked in thinking I wouldn’t enjoy the film, and walked out raving about it. Yes, I had a few problems here and there, but in general it was a really entertaining film, and I would recommend it. I don’t think I would give it a full 5/5 stars, maybe 3.5/5 perhaps? But seeing as I don’t usually do ratings, I’ll just say that I would happily watch it again.

-The Storyteller

bvs
Image sourced from Google Images
Leave a Reply

