films, Random

Team Cap or Team Iron Man?


Hey guys!

I don’t know about you, (but I’m feeling 22) but with all the new Superhero films coming out this year or in the next couple of years, my inner fangirl is yet again becoming way too excited to handle all of this. It’s really thanks to my brother that I got into Superhero films, more specifically Marvel films, and so with Captain America: Civil War coming to screens really soon, I thought it would only be fair to talk about the whole debate on which side you should choose. (Not that you have to choose a side, of course, but this is going to be a very biased post as to why Captain America is better than Iron Man.)

Honestly, although Iron Man was one of the first Avengers films to come out, I don’t really remember it that well, because when it comes to it, I don’t usually choose to watch it. I don’t know why. It’s not a bad film, and neither are its sequels, but if someone put in front of me a Captain America DVD and an Iron Man DVD, I would very promptly choose the former. And these are the reasons why.

  1. Captain America deserves to be a hero.
    Cap is incredibly loyal, he is a good person, and he doesn’t really let power get to his head. Even in Avengers: Age of Ultron, there is the scene at the beginning when all of the Avengers are trying to lift Thor’s hammer, and Cap is the only one to make it budge. (Okay, it was hardly anything, and he barely even lifted it, but it moved, okay?) So what does that show us? It shows that out of all the Avengers apart from Thor, Cap is the most worthy.
  2. Cap has morals.
    If it’s not already been made clear to you from the previous films with Cap in them, he is a good man. He has lost so much and has had to deal with so much, yet he still fights for what is right. It is arguable that in Civil War, he only wants to save Bucky, his best friend, rather than, say, a whole city, but I’m optimistic that he wouldn’t just let a whole city and its civilians just die because of his best friend.
  3. Cap didn’t buy his fame.
    Unlike Iron Man, who has all the money in the world, and is a superhero only because he can afford to build really cool suits, Captain America earned his fame. Like we saw in the first film, he went and saved loads of soldiers from a camp in World War Two, where he proved his worth, and it went on from there. Iron Man is a little bit like Batman, in that he’s only super because he has the money to be, and it’s probably just me, but I don’t really like that about him. I know Iron Man is a great character, I’m not saying otherwise, but to me, I think Captain America is better because he didn’t have to use his money to get where he is.

So those are my reasons for preferring Captain America over Iron Man. What are your thoughts? Do you agree or disagree? I’d love to know, so make sure you comment down below.

-The Storyteller

2 thoughts on “Team Cap or Team Iron Man?”

  1. These two are my favourite Avengers, so it’s so stressful to me having to choose a side! I do agree about Cap though, he really earned it. Plus, he has actual powers, not just fancy technology. As a hero Cap is definitely my favourite. But as characters I think they’re tied 🙂

  2. Haha I think Iron Man is much better because the whole “morally upright” superhero is overplayed and glorified. And Tony has lots of money because he’s smart enough to build his suits, so it’s more brains than gentic modifying. I’m not sure how the movies going to turn out, but I’m hoping there’s not a whole lot of casualties on either side

Leave a Reply

