advice

Optimist vs Realist


Hey guys!

As I’ve said on many occasions throughout the life of this blog, I am an optimist. I prefer to look at life’s situations in the most positive way possible. Why? I don’t really know. I just do. I’d rather be positive about a bad situation than negative about it and get myself all worked up about it and be miserable.

That’s not to say that I am optimistic all the time. Of course there are days when I get so stressed out about something, all I want to do is lie in bed and cry until the problem goes away, or sorts itself out. But that’s normal for everyone. Usually, when I’m feeling this way, I will go to sleep and normally I will feel better in the morning, when I’m not panicking or freaking out, and I can actually think about what the situation is and how I should go about resolving it.

I have a friend at university who often asks me for my advice, and when I give people my advice, I always try and give them something positive to look at. I mean, that’s kind of the point, right? You’re trying to help them so you don’t want to be mean. But, about a week ago, we kind of had an argument (it wasn’t an actual “argument” argument, but we disagreed on several things). Whenever I tried to offer some form of support or advice, he would always come back with something negative, and this was quite hard for me because I really wanted to help him out but with all the negativity, it was making it difficult to keep thinking of things to say that might actually help him.

In our relationship, I am clearly more of the “dreamer”, and he is the “realist”. I don’t mind that I’m a dreamer, because I always have been, but there was a time when he said I’m not realistic, because I’m always so positive and I always say things like “it’ll be fine, something will be sorted out, no need to panic…” I personally think that a person can be both positive and realistic. I think I can be both of these things. Yes, I often find myself sitting in lectures daydreaming about something far more interesting, but that’s beside the point!

Just because some people are optimists, it doesn’t mean that they see the world as this big happy place full of sunshine and rainbows. I certainly don’t see it that way! It’s all about how you think and how you deal with a situation. Some people try to take it in the best way possible, and try to think of the most ideal outcomes, and other people… don’t. We’re all different.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that not all optimists are blinded with positivity all the time. We can be realistic.

#JustSaying.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

