advice, university

Accept it, Move on.


Hey guys!

I would say that I am one of those people who is good at moving on from certain things. Obviously it depends on the situation, and some people might argue that I haven’t ever been through a really really horrible time that I’ve had to try and move on from, but everyone’s different and everyone experiences different things at different times.

I like to think that life is what you make of it. When I say life, by the way, please interpret it to however you like- it can be school, university, work, your social life. If you’re not happy with the way things are going, then you are the only one who can change it. It’s up to you to start working harder, getting your homework in on time, or moving away from so called “friends”. It’s hard, but once you get over that initial step then things start to get better and things get easier.

One of my friends at university is thinking about dropping out, because although they love the course, they hate the people. (Except for me and like two other people.) I tried explaining to them that you need to make it what you want it to be, but they proved to me that it’s a lot easier said than done. They just couldn’t seem to understand that the only way you can make things better, is just by doing it. Sometimes you have to accept that things aren’t always going to be butterflies and rainbows, but you just have to move on from the bad things that are holding you back.

I remember when I was at school, I was having personal problems with my friends, and the last two years in particular were an immense struggle because I also had my A-levels along side that to stress me out even more. I’m one of those people who, when I had friendship problems, I wouldn’t want to talk to them about it because I knew that they would deny the things I was worrying about (if that makes any sense). So now that I’m at university, I’m happy because I accepted the fact that if my friends want to still be my friends, they will make the effort to talk to me rather than me always being the one to try to start the conversation. Now I’m at university, I have made my own friends and in the four months that I’ve known them, my closest friends are some of the most genuine people I’ve ever met. You could say that I’ve moved on. Obviously, I still talk to my old friends from home, I’m not one of those people who is just going to forget everything that happened and push people away. They were my friends for a reason, but it’s just nice to have a fresh start.

That was a long paragraph. Sorry!

The point is that when things are difficult, and you feel helpless and that you can’t talk to anyone or that your life is just going downhill, you have to keep fighting and keep staying as positive as possible. It does get better, once you feel like you can move on from it. For me, university was the thing that helped me move on from my worries at home and it couldn’t have come at a better time for me.

I hope that made sense, and that it helped in some way!

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

