humour

I am Bridget Jones


Hey guys!

“The Diary of Bridget Jones” is one of my favourite films, mainly because I relate to Bridget on so many levels. Usually I’m not a fan of romantic comedies, but this one is an exception.

Firstly, although I’m still not 100% sure what I want to do with myself after I’ve finished my degree, I like to think that if I did get a job in publishing, (which is something I have thought about in the past) I think I would literally be like Bridget. It wouldn’t surprise me if my friends called me whilst at work, crying down the phone because their boyfriend broke up with them, and I’d have to try and console them without looking like I’m just gossiping to a friend on the phone instead of working…

Although I don’t smoke, I relate to Bridget because I never really bother with New Year’s Resolutions because they never work anyway. I was always lazy and said that I would just get better at swimming, because I swam for a club 5 days a week so I knew I was going to get better at swimming.

However, even though I’m kind of lazy, I am also very motivated, like Bridget. When she ends her relationship with Daniel Cleaver, (her boss) she decides to take action and become a better person, and go to the gym and eat healthy, and find a new job in television. Now, I personally would avoid being in a relationship with my boss (let’s be honest, that would just be awkward) but the point is still there that when you get knocked down you have to get back on your feet, and I think I’m like that.

It’s just occurred to me that I really sound like I’m boasting about myself. That wasn’t my intention, trust me!

Finally, the amount of second hand embarrassment we have to deal with throughout the entire film just reminds me of my own life and embarrassing situations. There’s the part of the film when she forget to turn the microphone on and embarrasses herself in front of all her work colleagues. (I have embarrassed myself in front of my work colleagues on one too many occasions.) There’s the part when she turns up at the “tarts and vicars” fancy dress party, not having received the notice that the theme has been changed, so she’s one of the only ones there dressed as a tart… (not aΒ tartΒ tart, but…. you know what I mean). This has never actually happened to me, but I think it’s part of the reason why I was always nervous at school when we had days where we didn’t have to wear school uniform, as I was always worrying that I’d got the wrong day.

So if you’re sitting there wondering what I’m like in real life, I would strongly advice you to watch “Bridget Jones’s Diary”. You’ll get some idea just by watching that!

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

