Uncategorized

Starman and The Wizard


Hey guys!

As I’m sure you all know, in the space of one week we have lost two very Great British people. Just after his 69th birthday (which also happens to be my birthday as well) David Bowie died of cancer which came as a shock to so many. My family, particularly my mum and my sister, are massive Bowie fans, so hearing that news was… emotional. And today, we lost Alan Rickman. I would say I’m a bigger Harry Potter fan than a Bowie fan, so I think the news of Alan Rickman dying has shocked me a bit more, simply because we’ve already lost such a great artist already this week, but I’m glad that I have a family who has such great taste in music.

I remember when I first came to university and I still had my car with me, I would drive around and one of David Bowie’s albums was still in the CD player. I didn’t want to take it out because it was what we were listening to when my mum and my sister dropped my off. It’s safe to say I learnt the majority of the lyrics to Let’s Dance. I remember watching the Labyrinth with my sister and my friend from primary school, who we’ve known for years and years, and dancing to “Magic Dance” in the kitchen with my sister.

And of course, our generation is going to remember Alan Rickman for portraying Professor Snape in the Harry Potter series. Apart from Sirius Black, Snape is one of my favourite characters, and was one of my favourites from the very beginning. At first it was because he was so evil, and then it was because he was so loyal. I don’t think they could’ve cast anyone better to play the role of Snape. I will always say “obviously” in the way Snape (or Alan Rickman) does, and whenever I read the books, I just hear Snape’s lines in Rickman’s voice.

It’s been a tough week. It’s been shocking. But although we lost two very great British icons, we will never forget either of them. We will keep them in our hearts.

Always.

-The Storyteller

5 thoughts on “Starman and The Wizard”

  1. That was such a lovely post, I am also really sad that two amazingly talented artists had their lives taken away from them by such a terrible illness. Fantastic post x

Leave a Reply

