humour

Turning 19


Hey guys!

It’s my birthday on Friday and I’m turning 19. If that wasn’t already obvious from the title. I remember writing a post about turning 18 last year and how I didn’t feel like I was ready to be a legal adult, and nearly 365 days later, I still don’t feel like I’m ready to be an adult.

I like to think that I’m still a teenager, even though in the UK when you turn 18 you are an adult. But 18 and 19 still have the word teen in it so… you know… technically I’m still a teenager.

I saw this picture on Facebook a few times recently, and although I’m not quite in my 20’s just yet, I think it sums up what I’m trying to say pretty well.

922849_10154559986683747_8407670893026318172_n

How accurate is that? I mean, my life motto for a long time has been “When something goes wrong in your life, yell Plot Twist! and move on” so I don’t think I’m going to be changing much in the next 10 years of my life.

So really, to summarize, I shouldn’t be stressing out too much about becoming more of an adult. I still have another year of being a teen so I can still ask my mum to sort out my problems and not feel bad about it, or I can ask my dad (or more likely, force my dad) to fix and update my laptop because I’m technically not an adult and it’s still acceptable for me not to know how to do that.

-The Storyteller

9 thoughts on “Turning 19”

  1. The picture is very accurate – I feel like that almost all the time. I turned 21 at the end of last year and I still don’t feel like I should be considered a grown-up. It’s far too much responsibility. 🙂

Leave a Reply

