thoughts

Who We Are


Hey guys!

My first post of 2016 isn’t going to be about New Year’s Resolutions. I like the idea of them, but I think there are more important, interesting things for me to write about at what is currently 12:46am UK time.

I’ve just been talking to a uni friend of mine, and I started talking about how people of our past shape us to be who we are today. My friend has had a bit of… trouble with certain people in the past, and says that they don’t like “people”- by that, they mean the type of people you think are friends and you do things for them, but they turn around and stab you in the back (not literally). My friend complains about “people” all the time, and being the optimist I am, I always try and make them see the good in people. This doesn’t always work.

I think that everyone has their demons- whether they be “people”, or events or whatever- which we don’t always want to talk about, but we can’t just forget about them. We can’t forget about what effect they had on us, and it’s not very easy for these effects to go away. I think that these “demons” are things that shape us though. No, we can’t forget them but we can learn from them and move on. If it’s a type of person, we can learn what people can be like, and try and avoid that type of person in the future.

When talking to my friend, I said that I didn’t know what they were like before university, and they didn’t know me, but it’s our past that made us who we are now, and although I don’t believe in fate, I do believe that things happen for a reason, and we are now friends because of all the things that happened in the past. These past events shape us and the people we knew have influenced us in such a way that we have become who we are right now.

I don’t know if this post makes any sense. This is usually the time of night I try and avoid writing blog posts because I get really philosophical and deep and eventually my ideas only make sense to me… Maybe it’s a sign that I should go to bed now…

What do you guys think? Does our past define our future?

-The Storyteller

7 thoughts on “Who We Are”

  1. I think sometimes your past changes you, but not all the time. I’m not really sure how to word it, but I think its mostly the bad things that change us, and people tend to forget about the good things that happen. Did that make sense? Sorry haha

  2. We’re definitely made up from our past, good and bad things. They might have felt like the end of the world at the time, but you change for the better because of them. Sleep is useful, but I’m glad you stayed awake to write this post! πŸ™‚

  3. our past doesn’t have to define us, although i agree that it is a part of who we are. change is possible πŸ™‚ i love this post! (and yes, it makes sense)

Leave a Reply

