Highlights

Highlights of 2015


Hey guys!

I can’t believe 2015 is nearly over. So, as tradition goes, I am going to write my annual “Highlights of *Insert Year Here*” post to look back on the good, the bad and the ugly.

I’m not going to lie to you, 2015 has been a roller-coaster of emotions. Looking back on the first half of the year, I can honestly say that I wasn’t happy at all. Going back to January, I was doing my final year of A-levels, I was stressing out over French, I lost all motivation, and I didn’t think I would be able to make it through and get into university.

As I’m sure you know, university has been something I’ve dreamed for since I was about 14, so the idea of not getting the grades really got to me. Little did I know, I had a lot more to stress over when this actually happened- I didn’t get the grades I needed to get into my top two university choices. But you can look at my posts from August to catch up on all that jazz! (FYI, I am in university now and I couldn’t be happier!)

Aside from A-levels, things outside of school weren’t too bad. Swimming was going okay, but I didn’t really get the chance to swim many galas because of my coursework and revision. That’s always something I’m going to miss from being part of a club, because going to galas was always one of my favourite things to do, even if I didn’t get any personal bests, or if I came last in the race. Being part of a team is such a great feeling and you don’t really realize that until you’re not part of it anymore.

Back in March, my sister, friend and myself went to see Halestorm in Cardiff, and it was one of the best gigs I’ve been to. The two opening bands were Wilson and Nothing More, both of whom I hadn’t heard of before, and I think it was the singer from Wilson, he crowd-surfed and was let down right in front of me, and he stood on my foot. Claim to fame, am I right?

In June, a group of bloggers joined forces to become “The Feministas”, and you can go and read our blog about our thoughts on equality and feminism here. I’ve really enjoyed writing with these amazing girls, and being able to express my views on global topics, including the refugee crisis, why feminism is important, influential people, religion… so many things and I have to say, each post I have written and read have been so interesting and I don’t regret my choice in joining these bloggers for a second.

When we went to South Africa at the end of July/early August, we brought our long-time friend with us (she’s my sister’s best friend and they’ve known each other since they were about 3) and I think this year’s trip was one of the best. We went to Addo Elephant Park which was one of the highlights for me because it’s something I’ve always wanted to see. There was this one particular warthog, which we nicknamed “Spy Hog”, because it was watching us watch our first elephant, and it wouldn’t move. Then when it did eventually move, we could see it’s little head poking out of the bushes! It was hilarious.

I’m trying to think back through the months, and is it bad that from March-July, nothing really that great comes to mind? That’s how bad this year was for me. I didn’t really talk about it to a lot of people, because at the time I didn’t particularly notice it. Whatever the feeling was, it wasn’t something that just appeared out of nowhere, over night. I think it was the stress that had been building up over months and months…

I wouldn’t say I was depressed. I don’t think I was that bad, but I’ve never been really good at talking to people about how I’m really feeling because I don’t know how to describe it, and I like to figure things out on my own. I don’t like to seem like I’m “complaining” or “attention seeking” so I keep certain things to myself. Bad idea, Janet. 

When we were in South Africa, all I could think about were my exams, and how I knew they weren’t going to be good enough to get me into university. Even though I had such a good time, this was the one thing that stayed at the back of my mind, and I think it stressed me out even more.

It’s only been the last three months where I’ve really enjoyed 2015. Which is ironic, because over the last three months I’ve been at university. Despite my struggles I managed to secure a place at the University of Winchester to study English with American Literature, and I’ve had the time of my life.

I’ve met some of the best people, and I’m so glad that I didn’t take a gap year, because I think if I did, I would just ask myself “what if?” I think university has been the best thing for me. The first few days were a struggle, but then it always is for anyone. Once I moved into halls of residence, everything seemed to brighten up and I finally felt like myself again. I’m so lucky to have amazing flat mates, and amazing friends.

I think one of my university highlights was definitely fresher’s fayre. Still, three months later, it was still one of the best days I’ve had so far. I joined Let’s Act, the drama society, and in our last session before Christmas Break we were playing this game called “What Are You Doing?” and I had to be a Pokemon, and one of my best friends was the other Pokemon and it was just hilarious because I feel like everyone is friends with everyone in Let’s Act, and I have no problem being weird around any of them.

Some of the uni parties have also been amazing. There was one which was the week after I moved into my halls where I met some more amazing people and I finally met up with someone I’d been talking to on Facebook and now we’re really close. See kids, parties are a good way to meet people! Just be careful about your alcohol consumption and make good choices!

In summary, 2015 has been… not the best. At least, January-August weren’t that great. But with the way things are going at the moment, I’m hopeful that 2016 is going to be great. Amazing. I have so much to look forward to- I’m going to be moving into a house with friends, once we get ourselves organised! We’re even planning a holiday, but being a student, money is a bit of an issue…

If you’ve read these “Highlights” posts before, you’ll know that they’re usually the last post of the year. I am going to Scotland in a couple of days, and we will be there for New Year’s so I doubt I will write anymore on my lovely blog until 2016. So if you don’t hear from me, I hope your 2015 was better than mine, and I hope you have a fantastic 2016.

-The Storyteller

5 thoughts on “Highlights of 2015”

  1. I completely understand Janet – the stress of senior year and getting into college/university can completely ruin your year! I’ve had so many breakdowns this year… I’m so glad the rest of the year was so much better and that you’re happy now! It sounds like you’re really at home at your university 😀 I hope your 2016 will be wonderful! ❤

  2. I understand where you’re coming from in terms of stress. I basically spent the whole of October and half of November in a constant state of tears over how much work I had to do – I can really ruin your year. Thankfully the rest of your year was a lot better than the stress that came with senior year. I hope university is going well and that you have a brilliant 2016!

Leave a Reply

