blogmas

Socializing at Christmas


Hey guys!

As a young person, I often get told that we spend more time on our phones than we do talking to people in real life. I understand that it’s frustrating when you’ve organised to spend some time with someone and they just use that time to talk to someone else on their phone rather than to you. I mean, it’s rude, right?

I know that I am one of those who often checks their phone for updates, because I’ve gotten so used to it. But this Christmas, I am planning on only checking my phone twice- when I wake up, and when I go to bed. I want to spend the day talking to my family rather than spending time on the internet.

It’s not that I don’t want to talk to my internet friends (such as the Blog Squad) or my university friends on Facebook, it’s just that I kind of want to prove that I can go without checking my phone for a whole day. Now, the reason I want to check it in the morning and the evening is because I don’t want to completely blank out everyone else. But family does come first.

I would encourage you to do something similar if you know that you are one who is usually found texting people when you’re eating dinner with your family. I think it would be an interesting challenge. Christmas Day usually seems to be really busy anyway, so I doubt I’m going to have much time to check my phone anyway.

Christmas is about spending time with the ones you love (and no, I’m not counting electronics as “loved ones”) so make sure that they know you care about them, and prove to those around you that not all young people are addicted to the internet!

-The Storyteller

2 thoughts on “Socializing at Christmas”

Leave a Reply

