blogmas

Secret Santa!


Hey guys!

Today’s Blogmas is all about the wonders of Secret Santa. If you don’t know what Secret Santa is, it’s basically a way of giving people presents without having to spend too much money. I have done Secret Santa with my friends for many years, and the way it works is you put everyone’s names in a hat (or equivalent) and each person pulls out a name, without showing or telling anyone else. Then you set a price limit and a date, and everyone has to get one present each, so everyone gets something.

I love doing Secret Santa, but I hate it when everyone always tells each other who they have. It spoils the fun. But, the reason I keep doing it is because it’s so much fun, and it’s so easy, especially if you’re a student and you don’t have that much money to spend on all of your friends. Secret Santa is also a good thing to do with university friends who you may not be really close with, but you might want to get them a little something. My flat did it this year and it was fairly successful… there were a few people who weren’t there when we did it, or they didn’t have their present but the majority of us had something to give.

This year I’m doing two lots of Secret Santa- obviously the one I did with my flat, and I’m doing another one with my friends from home, so I still need to go into town and get something for my Secret Santa. In a way, it’s harder to get things for my home friends because I don’t want to always get them the same things, but I’m hoping to go to the Exeter Christmas Market at some point this week and hopefully the stuff there won’t be as expensive as the one in Winchester!

I would recommend doing Secret Santa if you want to get things for your friends, but you don’t have enough money to spend on all of them. Especially if it actually works, and people don’t know who’s got who. My flat all found out because one of the girls asked everyone, and everyone told her, so we decided to do it again, but three of us got the same person as before so… it kind of worked.

How many of you guys do Secret Santa? What do you think of it?

-The Storyteller

 

3 thoughts on “Secret Santa!”

  1. I’m doing Secret Santa with my family 🙂 I buy something for my mom and grandfather (and they for me) and then we pull names with the rest of the family (they buy things for each other as well). If that makes sense haha. It saves money and keeping your Santa a secret and buying something for them is fun ^-^

  2. I’m doing Secret Santa with work, I’ve organised it as well which has been fun. I agree that it’s annoying when people tell each other who they have, isn’t that meant to be the fun of it? Nice post 🙂 xx

    1. Thank you 🙂 yeah, when people did out who they have it goes against the whole point! But at the end of the day it’s supposed to be a bit of fun and everyone gets something out of it 🙂

Leave a Reply

