blogmas

Christmas and Birthdays


Hey guys!

Blogmas Day 13 is all about how my family has a lot of birthdays around this time of year. Today is my dad’s birthday, with only 12 days to go until Christmas Day. I’m going to bake him a cake as soon as I finish this post, because he’s out at the moment. Then my birthday is on the 8th January, which is exactly 2 weeks after Christmas Day. Plus, I’m a twin, so really, my family has three birthdays to look forward to around this time of year!

I’m glad that my birthday isn’t on Christmas Day or Christmas Eve… I just don’t think it would be that great. Like… do you get a birthday present and a Christmas present? Do you get a combined present? Do you sing Happy Birthday first then start watching Christmas films? And what do you do if you want to have a birthday party?

I’m getting too far into this…

I like that my birthday is in winter, but then I guess I’ve never experienced anything other than that, so if my birthday was around Christmas, then I’d be used to it. I used to know someone whose birthday was on Christmas Day (…or was it Christmas Eve…?) and I think it’s just one of those things where you just get used to it. It’s like me being asked the question “What’s it like being a twin?” I don’t know anything other than being a twin, so I just say it’s like having a sister but we share the same birthday…

Christmas time can be fairly expensive for my family and friends because there are so many people to get things for, but as I said, it’s something you get used to. It doesn’t feel like my dad’s birthday is 2 weeks before Christmas, and it doesn’t feel like mine is 2 weeks after. I think that because my birthday is in January, it’s a new month and a new year so Christmas has been and gone, but thinking about it, there really isn’t that much time between it.

How many of you guys have birthdays around this time of year? Or do you know someone who does? Make sure you comment below!

-The Storyteller

3 thoughts on “Christmas and Birthdays”

  1. My birthday is on December 28 and it’s just like you say, when people ask me how it is I just say that it’s normal because I’m used to it. I don’t know how diffwerent it is from having a birthday in another time of the year.

Leave a Reply

