blogmas

Christmas Presents


Hey guys!

Blogmas Day 6 is all about finding Christmas presents for friends and family members. Personally, and I don’t mean to boast, I think I’m pretty good when it comes to finding Christmas presents for people. It’s obviously easier if it’s someone you know really well, like your family or your best friend, but if you’ve made a new friend and you want to get them something for Christmas, it can be quite difficult.

The first thing you need to do is make sure you know what the person likes. Do they love a certain film? Or a book? Do they like sports? Maybe you have a similar sense of humour so you can get them something that only this person will understand? It’s always nice to personalize gifts as well, so make sure you don’t cross out the idea of making a gift for someone. They’ll appreciate the time and effort put into it.

Whenever people ask me what I want for Christmas, I always say “I don’t mind”. I’m one of those annoying people, I know, but I really don’t mind. I like being surprised, and I also like to see how well people know me. So my answer for the dreaded “What do you want for Christmas?” question is just telling them what websites I like. I’ve talked about notonthehighstreet.com before in a post because I love scrolling through the things they have. This website is so good because there is a huge variety of unique gifts for everyone. If you don’t know where to start, you can just type in something the person likes, for example, Star Wars, and then Star Wars related gifts will come up.

Now, notonthehighstreet.com can be fairly expensive. There is a little price adjustment thing on the side so if your limit is like £10 or something, then you can slide it so only gifts which are £10 or less will show up. (This post isn’t sponsored by notonthehighstreet.com or anything, just FYI!)

I suppose the only bad thing with online shopping is that you don’t always know what the quality of the product will be like until it arrives, and there’s always the risk that it won’t arrive in time for Christmas, but this is why you should try and think about presents as early as possible. Especially if you’ve found something online.

Obviously there are other places you can go. I am a massive fan of Christmas Markets, and I’m pretty sure most towns and cities have them. Again, they can be expensive, depending on the products they sell, but they’re usually of good quality. I love going to the Exeter Christmas Market with my family because they not only sell gifts, but they also have stands which sell amazing food and drinks!

Finally, if you’re trying to buy a gift for that one person who already has everything they want and need, it can be really difficult. My brother loves music, and he’s studying it at University, so you’d think that buying CD’s would be the obvious choice. But the problem is that he’s already got most of the CD’s he likes so sometimes you have to be a bit more creative. Luckily, I know my brother’s sense of humour, so if I saw a t-shirt or something with a funny quote or picture then that would be the thing I’d go for.

So to summarise, buying Christmas presents isn’t always easy. You may be on a budget, but there’s always some way around it. You might have to think outside the box, but it’s the thought that counts.

-The Storyteller

1 thought on “Christmas Presents”

  1. this is maddie – loving the snow! Xmas presents (or presents in general) for my brother are awful because he’s a very solitary person and also i need to get a secret santa present for someone who doesn’t drink. It’s super difficult. Though since being in uni i’ve turned to making funny things – like framed photos or hilarious posters. happy holiday hunting xxxx

Leave a Reply

