blogmas

Why I Celebrate Christmas


Hey guys!

Welcome to Blogmas Day 2. Today I wanted to talk about some of the reasons why I celebrate Christmas, which may not seem that interesting to you, but let me explain.

I don’t consider myself to be religious. I was Christened, so I guess that technically makes me Christian, and I used to go to Church when I was little, but my parents have always allowed us to choose what we wanted to believe in, so I chose not to believe in God. I do have relatives who are Christian, and I respect them because it’s their choice.

So why do I celebrate a religious holiday when I myself am not religious?

I think it’s the same for a lot of people- Christmas is a traditional thing. For me, it’s about spending time with family and friends. On Christmas day we always get together with my gran, uncle and aunt for a Christmas meal. That’s been the case for as long as I can remember. My friends and I have done Secret Santa since we were about 13, so finding a day in the holidays to meet up has also become a tradition. And the newest tradition is with my South African side of the family, where we meet up maybe a week or two before Christmas and get together to have a meal.

This year I think I am going to appreciate it more, because I will be seeing people for the first time in about three months at least. With my South African relatives who now live in the UK, it’s harder to see them often because we don’t live near each other. So this is that one time of year we all know we can meet and catch up.

No, I don’t celebrate for the religious reasons, but I think of Christmas as a time where we should spend time with those who mean the most. It’s about spending time with family and friends, and it’s when you can relax before the craziness of the next year begins.

That’s what I think about when I think of Christmas.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

