humour, university

End of Term Stress


Hey guys!

I don’t know if this is just something that I do, but it seems that when the end of term is near, I realize just how much work I have to do, and how little of that work I’ve actually done.

That makes me sound like a slacker.

I’m not a slacker. Trust me. I’m just one of those people who doesn’t realize how fast time goes when you’re too busy having fun, and all of a sudden you’ve got just over two weeks left of term. I have an essay due in for next week on Thursday which I haven’t started yet because I don’t know where to start and in all honesty, I’ve been putting it off for as long as possible.

I also need to read “Mrs Dalloway” by good old Virginia Woolf for this Wednesday. I’ve read about two pages and that was about three days ago. I’ve found I’m not a massive “Mrs Dalloway” fan, and I’ve barely even started reading it.

Why have I been doing that, you ask? I think it’s just something I do when I’m stressed out because there are quite a few other people who have already started planning their essays and I’m just sitting here writing a blog post about why I’m not doing my work.

This is not the right way to go about doing things. I am honestly feeling more motivated to do my work now, but I often find I struggle to deal with my stress. Everyone acts differently when they’re stressed- personally, I think sleeping is the best way to deal with it, because sometimes you get more stressed when you’ve had a lack of sleep (which, at university, is very likely). I’m not saying you should use the method of sleep to resolve all of your problems, but it’s always a good place to start. Other ways of stress relief include doing exercise, but if you’re a student with no money to go to the gym, or you just don’t like going to the gym in general, then that can be a bit of a problem. And obviously it’s winter now so you don’t want to go running because it’s cold, and who goes running anyway? Why would you put yourself through that?

I’m going off topic. Sorry.

I don’t even know what the point of this post is. I’m a bit stressed out, but I don’t feel stressed out in the usual “stressed out” way… give me a week, and I’ll get back to you on that one.

I think I’m just more excited to go home for Christmas, and I’m excited about New Year’s, and I’m excited because it’s one month and 2 days until Christmas Day and there are so many things which are going to happen, but I need to start thinking about the present and the near future before I start daydreaming about other things that are going to happen next year.

This post is so random… I’m sorry. I’m in such a weird mood today… in other news, I watched my first Christmas film of the year yesterday which wasn’t too bad. It was “The Santa Clause” and I don’t think I’ve ever seen it before, so my friend told me off and forced me to watch it. Well, they didn’t force me, but we ended up watching it anyway.

Okay I need to go into town now and buy some clothes from Primark… hopefully I won’t go spending loads of money in there again like I did last time… (If you follow me on Twitter, you may understand where I’m coming from)

-The Storyteller

3 thoughts on “End of Term Stress”

  1. Aww I understand not realising how fast time goes! It happened to me last year, during senior year. All of a sudden I almost had my final exams and I hadn’t even really done that much yet- so needless to say I stressed a lot. You still have time though, so I’m sure it will be okay 🙂 ‘The Santa Clause’ is the one where Tim Allen turns into Santa? I love that film! 😀

Leave a Reply

