Uncategorized

Terrorism Has No Religion.


Hey guys.

I haven’t planned this post, and it’s not going to be a very “happy” one. You can probably tell where this is heading if you’ve been paying any attention to the news from last night.

I am so angry right now. Paris is a city which I have been to countless times, and if I was ever lucky enough to live there one day, I would probably feel comfortable doing so. I love this city, and I love France itself, so when you have this connection with another country, or another city, and you hear that they have been attacked again… for the second time in one year… I hope you can understand why I’m angry.

No, I’m not French. I studied the country for my A-level exam. I’ve been there on so many occasions. I have friends who live an hour or so outside of Paris itself. I have a right to be upset about this, as does everyone else. Because regardless of whether or not you’ve been to Paris before, when a country is attacked by terrorists who are doing something for their “religion”… it makes me question so much.

On the Twitter chat I’m part of, there were conversations about how terrorism has no religion. It doesn’t. Using your religion as an excuse to kill hundreds of people is sickening. I’m an atheist, but that doesn’t mean I can go into a church and kill everyone because I disagree with what they think is right. In my eyes, you have to be completely insane to do something this cruel. What also gets to me, is the fact that people blame Muslims for terror attacks. But think about the KKK… they were Christians, but no one calls them terrorists? But that’s not the point….

What I’m trying to say is that Terrorism has no Religion. Don’t just assume that all Muslims are terrorists, just because on the few occasions that so called “Muslims” have been behind terrorist attacks, it makes the whole religion one that agrees with it. Does that make sense?

I apologize if this post is a bit all over the place. I didn’t get much sleep last night, and just watching some of the news videos from the attacks… I’m feeling quite emotional. I wouldn’t be surprised if I just burst into tears in the middle of playing Ultimate Frisbee later… The thing is that even though I’m not French, and I don’t live in Paris, it still effects me. Because I know that if something like this happened in the UK, or in South Africa, or somewhere which I have been to before and have a connection with, or have family and friends living there… I don’t even know how to finish that sentence.

I’ve always said that if I meet someone of a different religion, be it Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Atheism… whatever, I won’t judge the person based on that. I will be nice to them if they are nice to me. It’s that simple. So I don’t understand why there are still people out there, in freaking 2015, who think it’s okay to go and cause such chaos because they are so… brainwashed into thinking that what they are doing is the “right thing”. I just don’t get it.

If you follow me on Twitter I will probably be tweeting and retweeting things about the whole thing. But I don’t want this blog to be a space of bad news. I want it to be somewhere that makes people happy- but at the same time I don’t want to just ignore big topics.

I think that’s all I have to say on that.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

