Music

What Do You Mean?


Hey guys!

I was going to call this post “What Do You Mean You Like Justin Bieber”, but a) I thought that would be too long, and b) it’s not 100% true. But I did want there to be a pun so hence why I just explained that to you.

Anyway, I’ve said before, a long long time ago, that I don’t like Justin Bieber’s music. (I never like to say I don’t like an artist because I don’t actually know them, even though Justin Bieber has done some…Β interestingΒ things in the past…) But JB has released a new song called “What Do You Mean”, and I have to admit that I really do like it. I didn’t realize it was by him at first, because I was at a party and they don’t usually say “next up is…” when you’re at a party, so I was just enjoying the music. Is it bad that I couldn’t tell it was Bieber by his voice? I think that just shows how often I listen to his music. Which is never.

I was talking to someone about it yesterday, and they were saying that they think it’s because Bieber has finally grown up musically. Think back to when “Baby” came out, and compare that with the stuff he’s making now. I’m not saying I’m a fan of JB, even though we share the same initials and I like this song. But that’s exactly it- I’m a fan of the song, more than the artist. And what can I say? It’s catchy, it’s a good dance song, and as I’m writing it, I keep singing bits of the chorus to myself.

I think what’s interesting is that when you don’t know who a song is by, there is a lot less judgement and I think people are more open about whether they like it or not. If you don’t know who the song’s by, then you don’t necessarily feel pressured into saying you like it or not just because of what everyone else thinks. I guess this is a bit of a confession. I like “What Do You Mean” by Justin Bieber, and that is something I never thought I’d say.

If you haven’t heard the song yet, here’s the link (I’ve put the lyric video on here because I prefer it to the actual video):

-The Storyteller

P.S I also didn’t realize he sang “Sorry” until about 2 minutes ago. I know. Crazy right?

5 thoughts on “What Do You Mean?”

  1. Indeed, it seems his writers got better! But he hasn’t grown up. Obvious by the arrests recently and how he treats his fans. A “good beat” is literally how pop songs survive πŸ˜‰

  2. I don’t like him as a person because of the same reasons HelenLoraine commented, but it’s true his music is developing and he is a good artist, though I hate to admit it. No way though do I like Justin Bieber πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

